News Releases

Mississippi Historical Society Meets Virtually, Awards Prizes

March 8, 2021

The Mississippi Historical Society presented the best Mississippi history book of 2020, its lifetime achievement award, teacher of the year, and other awards in recognition at its virtual annual meeting on Friday, March 5.

Alferdteen Harrison received the Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of her extensive scholarly research and preservation of Mississippi history. Harrison served as president of the Mississippi Historical Society in 1991. She is the former director of the Margaret Walker Alexander Center at Jackson State University and a co-founder of the Smith Robertson Museum in downtown Jackson. She is currently leading an effort to save the Scott-Ford House in Jackson’s Farish Street Historic District.

Nancy Bristow, chair of the History Department at the University of Puget Sound, received the Book of the Year Award for best Mississippi history book of 2020.

Robert Luckett, historian and director of the Margaret Walker Alexander Center at Jackson State University, received the Journal of Mississippi History Article of the Year Award for “James P. Coleman (1956-1960) and Mississippi Poppycock.” The article was published in the Spring/Summer 2019 issue of the Journal of Mississippi History.

The Outstanding Local Historical Society Award was presented to the Woodville Civic Club for its work in the preservation of historic Woodville, one of Mississippi’s oldest settlements.

The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Theresa Moore of Sacred Heart Catholic School in Hattiesburg. Moore, a fifth and sixth grade history teacher, has served at Sacred Heart since 1995 and has more than thirty-six years of teaching experience.

Awards of Merit were presented to the Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag for its work in the development and design of the new state flag; Friends of the Vicksburg National Military Park and Campaign for its work in the preservation, education, monument restoration, and advocacy of the Vicksburg Military National Park; the City of Tupelo in celebration of its 150th anniversary; the Columbus Municipal School District for its work in commemorating the histories of Union Academy and Franklin Academy; the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College for its donations of the C.C. “Tex” Hamill Down South Magazine Collection and the Dixie Press Collection to MDAH; and the Corinth Area Convention and Visitors Bureau, Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center, and Northeast Mississippi Community College for its collaborative work on a phone application for the Corinth Contraband Camp Project.

2020–2021 president of MHS Marshall Bennett passed the gavel to incoming president Stephanie Rolph of Jackson.

The Mississippi Historical Society, founded in 1858, encourages outstanding work in interpreting, teaching, and preserving Mississippi history. Membership is open to anyone; benefits include receiving the Journal of Mississippi History, the Mississippi History Newsletter, and discounts at the Mississippi Museum Store. For information on becoming a member visit


Be part of history. Volunteer with MDAH and help us preserve and connect Mississippi’s rich historic resources with people around the world.