News Releases

Flag Commission Sets August 1 as New Deadline for Flag Design Submissions

July 23, 2020

At its first meeting held on July 22 at the Two Mississippi Museums, the Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag set August 1 as the new deadline for the public to submit designs for a new state flag. The deadline will allow the commission to complete its work in time for ballots to be printed for the November 3 election.

Commissioners unanimously elected Reuben Anderson to serve as chairman. Anderson, a former Mississippi Supreme Court justice, serves as president of the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.

Other commission members present at the meeting included Sherri Carr Bevis, T.J. Taylor, and J. Mack Varner. Robyn Tannehill and Mary Graham joined the meeting via Zoom. House Speaker Philip Gunn welcomed the commissioners and thanked them for their service.

Flag designs may be emailed to Submissions may also be mailed to Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag, Mississippi Department of Archives and History, P.O. Box 571, Jackson, MS, 39205-0571.

For more information email



Be part of history. Volunteer with MDAH and help us preserve and connect Mississippi’s rich historic resources with people around the world.