News Releases

Flag Commission Chooses Nine Finalists

August 14, 2020

On August 14, the Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag selected nine designs to advance to the next round (pending clearance of intellectual property rights).

In attendance were Reuben Anderson, Cyrus Ben, Sherri Carr Bevis, Frank Bordeaux, Mary Graham, Betsey Hamilton, Robyn Tannehill, and J. Mack Varner. T. J. Taylor joined the meeting via Zoom. The meeting was held at the Two Mississippi Museums.

The nine flags and a nonbinding public poll have been placed on the MDAH website: A public comment period will begin on August 25. The poll and comments section will close at noon on September 1.

The commission will meet again on August 18 (8 a.m.), August 25 (10:30 a.m.), and September 2 (10:30 a.m.). The commission will select a design to submit to the governor and the legislature at the September 2 meeting.

The minutes for the July 28 meeting are available here. Watch the August 14 meeting on the MDAH Facebook page. For more information email



Be part of history. Volunteer with MDAH and help us preserve and connect Mississippi’s rich historic resources with people around the world.