Skip to content

The McLemore Prize is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished scholarly book on a topic in Mississippi history or biography published during the year prior to the award.

The McLemore Prize memorializes Richard A. McLemore, former president of the Mississippi Historical Society and former director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and his wife, Nannie Pitts McLemore, also a former president of the Society.

Submit four copies of the book by November 2, to:

McLemore Prize Committee
Mississippi Historical Society
P. O. Box 571
Jackson, MS  39205-0571

The physical address is William F. Winter Archives and History Building, 200 North Street, Jackson, MS  39201.  The prize winner will be notified before the annual meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society, scheduled for the first weekend in March.

Only works published the year prior to the annual meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society are eligible. Page-proof copies may be submitted only for books that will be published between November 1 and December 31.  Works should be well researched in a scholarly manner that includes footnotes and bibliography.  Works of original scholarship will be given preference over edited works.