MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE, FISHERIES AND PARKS

1505 EASTOVER DRIVE
JACKSON, MS 39211

PUBLIC NOTICE L3-3476

In accordance with Section 25-43-9, Mississippi Code of 1972, the Mississippi Commission on Wildlife,
Fisheries and Parks; at a meeting in Jackson, Mississippi on May 18, 2005, made known its intent to, and
thirty (30) days thereafter did, adopt the following policy, rules and regulations pertaining to the issuance
of a Tifetime license in accordance with Section 49-1-29 and Sections 49-7-153, Mississippi Code of

1972.

Be it ordered that Public Notice No. 3476.002 is hereby amended.

LIFETIME LICENSE

I. Types of lifetime license authorized:

RESIDENT:
A. Lifetime Sportsman License available to a resident person between the a'gés. of
bitth through twelve (12) years of age inclusive for a fee 6f $500.00.
. B. Lifetime Sportsman License available to a resident person over twelve (12) years
of age for a fee of $1,000.00.
NON-RESIDENT:

Lifetime Sportsman License available to a native Son or daughter at a fee of
$1,500.00.

II. Issuance of lifetime license

A.

License to be issued from the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, only.

Application for lifetime license for residents under the age of 12 years must be
accompanied by a certified copy of the birth certificate of the individual to be

- named as the license holder.

Resident lifetime license applicant must prove that they have been domiciled in
the State of Mississippi for a minimum of 18 months immediately prior to
issuance of such license. The domicile of a person is that person’s principal or
primary home or place of abode. A “principal or primary home or place of
abode” is that home or place in which a person’s habitation is fixed and to which
he, whenever absent, has the present intention of returning after a departure of
absence therefrom, regardless of the duration of the absence. The burden of
proving domicile shall be_on the person claiming such status. A person
holding a current driver’s license shall be deemed to be domiciled within




2
the state issuing the license. If a person does not hold a current driver’s

license, the following evidence or other reliable evidence may be
considered in establishing, but is not necessarily determinative of,
domicile: residence for income or other tax purposes, homestead
exemption receipt, or any other means prescribed by the department. In
the case of minors, domicile of a parent or legal guardian shall be used as
evidence of the child’s domicile. For the purpose of this license
application, “minor” is defined as a person under 18 years of age.

Applicant’s social security number as well as original issue date shall be
affixed to license.

Applicant for a native son or daughter non-resident lifetime sportsman license
must provide a certified copy of the original birth certificate showing that the
applicant was born in Mississippi and/or if the parent’s address was in
Mississippi at the time of birth as shown on the birth certificate.

IIL. Privilege of Lifetime License

A.

Lifetime License are available in three types. FEach type of Lifetime License
allows you to hunt and/or fish during a legal season and to take any game or fish,
except waterfowl, without the purchase of additional license of permits unless
required by law. Lifetime License holders must still purchase state and federal
waterfowl stamps to hunt waterfowl. Also, an additional permit is required for
the use of crossbow. '

The lifetime license allows fishermen to take fish, crabs, oysters, shrimp, and any
other saltwater fish authorized to be taken under recreational permit. Sportsmen
must carry a second form of identification, either a driver’s license or some other
form of photo ID, when hunting or fishing with a lifetime license.

IV. Penalty for submitting false information on application.

In accordance with Section 49-7-21 (5), Mississippi Code of 1972, any person who
obtains a license under an assumed name or makes a materially false statement to obtain
a license is guilty of a felony and shall be subject to a fine of Two Thousand Dollars
($2,000.00) or may be imprisoned for a term not to exceed one (1) year or both.

V. Expenditure of lifetime license income

A.

The Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks shall establish the Wildlife
Endowment Fund.

All proceeds from the sale of the lifetime license shall be deposited into said
fund.

The Commission shall invest the assets of the fund and the interest obtained from

‘any investment shall be deposited into the fund.




D. No expenditures shall be made from the principal of the Wildlife Endowment
Fund.

E.  The income earned and accruing from the investment of the fund shall be spent
only in furthering the conservation of wildlife resources and the opetations of the
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks in accomplishing the
purposes of the department.

This adopted public notice will become effective July 16, 2005. Witness my hand and seal this the 30™
day of Jurie, 2005. ~

Mississippi Commission on Mississippi Department of
Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks

Polles, Ph.D., Exeoutive Director

I certify this to be a true and
correct copy.

AT
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