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RULES AND REGULATIONS
1. GENERAL

101. AUTHORIZATION AND APPLICABILITY

The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformity with Chapter 7,
Section 73-7-7, Laws of the State of Mississippi, Code of 1972 Annotated, as
amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology.These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or
registered in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7, Taws of the State of
Mississippi, Code of 1972 Annotated, as amended, and are effective as of July 1,
2000 and will continue pursuant to Taw.

TENSES, GENDER AND NUMBERFor the purpose of these rules and regulations, the present
tense includes the past and future tenses, and the future, the present; the
masculine gender includes the feminine and the feminine, the mascu11ne, and singular
includes the plural, and the plural the singular.

DEFINITIONSAs used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:

I. “Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized
representatives. o
“Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.III “Cosmetology Law” or

“Law; geans the Mississippi code of 1972, Annotated, Title 73, Chapter 7, as
amended.

“Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon.v

“Practitioner” means an individual who is practicing one of the professions
regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in §73-7-2.

VI. “salon” means an establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the
practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or
all of those.

V%I “School” means an establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose
o)

teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or
all of those.

VIIId “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the
Board.

IX “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill
operation.

X “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance
at theory classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills

XI “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance ver a
three-month period of the students enrolled in a school.

XII. “Full Time” means not less than 25, nor more than 40 hours per week.

XIII. “Part Time” means anything Tess than number 11, above.

XIV. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching

program at a licensed school.

COMMUNICATIONSAT1 communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations
or general information should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology, P.0. Box 55689, Jackson, Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to
Schools and examinations should be directed to the Department of School
Coordination.

105. REQUEST FOR PUBLIC RECORDS.

I. The only information which is made available_to the public through a
telephone inquiry is whether or not an individual is licensed by the Board, and
whether or not the Ticense 1is current. Any other request for information must be
submitted in writing to the Board office and will be released only after a review
and determination as to whether the information requested is Public Record as



defined by Mississippi Statute, and only after the cost to produce the record has
been collected.

II. The board will respond to a public records request within 14 days from the

date the request is received.

III. In considering the cost for production of the record, the following will be
included: cost of production of copies, expendable printer supplies, cost of record
research by a member of the Board staff, and mailing costs. Any other unforeseen

costs will be disclosed to the individual requesting the record.

IV. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination

results are not considered public record, and may be released only with approval of
the third party. A request for public record, including a third party release, will
be considered only after or at the time the record is actually created. An
individual who wants his or her examination record released to their school may
complete and submit a release form at the time of the examination.

106. BOARD MEETINGS:

I. The Board holds its meetings on the Tast Monday of each month, beginning at
9:00 AM, unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. 1In the event
a Board meeting is scheduled for another time, written notice will be sent to all
individuals who make written request that they be so notified.

II. AlT1 Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome,
gowever, pubTic members may not participate in business discussion unless invited to
0 so.

III. The public may write or call the board office at least one week in advance
of the scheduled meeting, to be placed on the agenda if they have a specific matter
they wish the board to consider.

IV. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the
meeting must be received in the Board office no later than five working days
proceeding the meeting.

A. Matters involving schools, students, or examinations should be directed to
the attention of the School Coordinator. ]

B. A1l other matters should be directed to the attention of the Executive
Director.

V. The Board may, at its option, set aside a period at the end of the meeting

to receive questions and comments from the public.

107. POSTING LAWS, RULES, NOTICES AND BULLETINS

An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public,
copies of laws, rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may from time to time
direct.

108. DISPLAY OF LICENSE

Every licensee must display his license in a conspicuous place within reading
distance of the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her working
area in the establishment.Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a power
drill or electric file in any manicuring procedure must post the required
certificate of proficiency at his/her working area in the establishment.

109. PERSONNEL

Receptionists, maids and other unlicenced personnel are prohibited by law from
practicing cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, or wigology in any manner.

110. DEMONSTRATOR’S PERMIT
An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product
without a permit which has been issued in accordance with Taw section 73-7-25.

111. VIOLATIONS OF LAW; RULES AND REGULATIONS
I. In any 1instances of non- compliance with Title 73, Chapter 7 of the Laws of
the state of Mississippi (:the violation) and any of the Rules and Regulations of
the MS State Board of Cosmetology, one of the following forms will be issued:
A. " Establishment and individuals licensed by the Board: a violation will be
1ssue

Establishment and individuals not Ticensed by the Board: a Complaint of
Agent of the Ms. State Board of Cosmetology; Unlicensed Practice, will be issued.
IT. A copy will be given to the violator with instructions to immediately
complete the reverse side by indicating what has been done to correct the



non-compliance item, sign and date the form, and forward to the Board office.

IIT. In most cases, violators will be given the opportunity to resolve first
instances of non-compliance. Failure to respond to the violation will be recommended
to the Board for Administrative hearing or for referral to the proper city/county
authorities.

Iv. A second offense of the same violation within a three year period will be
recommended to the Board for Administrative Hearing or for referral to the proper
city/county authorities.

V. If, at the time of issuance, the inspector is not aware that the violation
is a repeat, a letter will be sent to the Ticensee as soon as the repeat record is
discovered. The letter will advise the Ticensee that, because the matter is a
repeat, it will be recommended for a hearing, regardless of whether or not a
response is received.

112. COMPLAINTS:

I. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance
with §73-7-27, Laws of the State of Mississippi.

IT. The comp1a1nt must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the board. It

must be signed, notarized, and accompanied by a Release Form, and a
Consent form that states the complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and
that the complainant understands that the information becomes public record once the
investigation is over.
III. when the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be
presented to the Board, at which time the Board may:

Dismiss the Complaint

2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing.

Iv.  Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s
decision.

113. STANDARDS RELATED TO COMPETENT PRACTICE

A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of
practice, as defined in §73-7-2, Laws of the State of Mississippi, Code of 1972
Ann., under the following conditions:A. The practitioner obtains appropriate
education relative to the services to be provided;

B. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities
to provide the service;

C. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of
meeting the requirements of items A. and B. of this rule;

D. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by
any other law or rule.

II. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must

Timit the exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment
must be approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class I
device intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently
display the manufacturer’s certificate of training for each type of equipment used,
and must comply with the manufacturers’ directions in the use of each product.

The use of FDA Class 2 or Class 3 devices is prohibited.

114. ORAL PROCEEDINGS ON PROPOSED RULES

This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the
public with an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and
amendments to rules before the Board pursuant to §25-43-3.104.A. The Board
will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or amendment if requested by a
political subdivision, an agency or ten (1) persons in writing within twenty (20)
days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule.

Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting.

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper ( 8-1/2 inches
by 11 inches) Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board and
signed by the requestor(s)The date, time and place of al oral proceedings shall be
field with the Secretary of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral
proceedings will be scheduled no earlier than twenty days from the filing of this
information with the Secretary of State.The Board President or his designee, who is
familiar with the substance of the proposed rule, shall preside at the oral
proceeding on a proposed rule.Public Presentations and ParticipationAt an oral
proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral statements and make documentary



and physical submissions, which may include data, views, comments or arguments
concerning the proposed rule.Persons wishing to make oral presentations at shall a
proceeding shall notify the Board at least one business day prior to the proceeding
and indicate the general subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in
his or her discretion may a1%ow individuals to participate that have not previously
contacted the Department.At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate
their name and addresses, identify any persons or organizations they may represent,
and provided any other information relating to their participation deemed
appropriate by the presiding officer.The presiding office may place time limitations
on individual oral presentations when necessary to assure the orderly and
expeditious conduct of the oral proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations
and to avoid repetition, additional time may be provided for persons whose
presentations represent the views of other individuals as well as their own
views.Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating matters
that have already been submitted in writing.There shall be no interruption of a
participant who has been given the floor by the presiding officer, except that the
presiding officer may in his or her discretion interrupt or end the partisan’s time
where 59 orderly conduct of the proceeding so requires.III. Conduct of oral
Proceeding.

The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or her
discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding. The presiding officer
shall:call proceeding to order.Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a
statement of the statutory authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided
by the Board for the proposed rule. The presiding officer, where time permits
and to facilitate the exchange of information, may open the floor to questions or
general discussion. The presiding officer may question participants and permit the
qgquestioning of participants by other participants about any matter relating to that
rule-making proceeding, including any prior written submissions make by those
participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required to answer any
guestion.Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be
submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property of the
Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request procedure.The Board may
record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic means.

DECLARATORY OPINIONSThese rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing
the form and content of requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s
procedures regarding the requests, as required by Mississippi Code §25-43-2.103.
These rules are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the
provisions of the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain
additional information regarding the issuance of dec1aratory opinions. 1In the event
of any conflict between these rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures
Law, the Tatter shall govern.Any person with a substantial interest in the subject
matter may request a declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified
procedures. “Substantial interest in the subject matter” means: an 1ndiv1dua1,
business, group or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s
administration of the laws within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction
of the Board means that the board has a constitutional or statutory grant of
authority in the subject matter at issue.The Board will issue declaratory opinions
regarding the applicability to specified facts of:A statute administered or
enforceable by the Board, orA rule promulgated by the Board.The Board will not issue
a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is outside the primary
jurisdiction of the agency.

The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue_a declaratory opinion. The
circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are not
necessarily Timited to:lack of clarity concerning the question presented;there is
pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or other adjudication
which may either answer the question_presented by the_request or otherwise make an
answer unnecessary;the statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is
clear and not in need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the
request;the facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the question
presented;the request fails to contain information required by the rules or the
requestor failed to follow the procedure set forth in these rules;the request seeks
to resolve issues which have become moot, or are abstract or hypothet1ca1 such that
the requestor is not substantially affected by the statue or rule on which a
declaratory opinion 1is sought;no controversy exists concerning the issue as the
requestor is not faced with existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a



guestion concerning the application of the statute or rule;the question presented by
the request concern the legal validity of a statue or rule;the request is not based
upon facts calculated to aid in the planning of future conduct but is, instead,
based on past conduct in an effort to establish the effect of that conduct;no clear
answer 1is determinable;the question presented by the request involved the
application of a criminal statute or an set of facts which may constitute a
crime;the answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of
1nformat1on which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from disclosure;the
question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion request or has
been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion;a similar request is pending before
this board or any other agency or a proceeding is pending on the same subject matter
before any agency, administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion
would constitute the unauthorized practice of law.where issuance of a declaratory
opinion may adversely affect the interest of the State, the Board of any of their
officers or employees in any litigations which is pending or may reasonable be
expected to arise;the question involves eligibility for a Ticense, permit,
certificate or other approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a
statutory or regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license,
permit, certificate or other approval would be determined.D. Each request must be
printed or typewritten, or must_be in legible handwriting. Each request must be
submitted on standard business letter-size paper ( 8-12 inches by 11 qinches).
Request must be in the form of a Tetter addressed to the Board.
AlT requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the Board.
The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. No
oral, telephone request or e-mail requests will be accepted for official
opinions.Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing
address of the requestor. All request shall be signed by the person filing the
request, who shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth
in these rules, including by not Timited to a full, complete and accurate statement
of relevant facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any other
administrative or judicial tribunal.Each request shall contain the following:a clear
and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is requested;a citation to
the statue or rule at issue;the question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion,
stated clearly;a suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers
desired by petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of those answers;the
identify of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the desired factual
situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, mailing address and
telephone number; anda statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a
substantial interest in the subject matter.within forty-five (45) days after the
receipt of a request for a declaratory opinion which complies with the requirements
of these rules, the Board shall in writing:issue a declaratory opinion regarding the
specified statute or rule as applied to the specified circumstances;becline to issue
a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its action; orAgree to issue a
declaratory opinion by a specified time bu not Tater than ninety (90) days after
receipt of the written request;The forty-five (45) days period shall begin running
on the first State of Mississippi business day on or after the request is received
by the Board, whichever 1is sooner.
A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60) days
after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) days, the
Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion for any
reason which is not arb1trary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or amending an
opinion include, but are not Timited to, a determination that the request failed to
meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued contains a legal or
factual error.The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a
declaratory opinion has been requested and may receive and consider data, facts,
arguments and_opinions from other persons, agencies or other entities other than the
requestor.Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be
available for public inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records
Act and the Board’s public records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and
requests shall be indexed by name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests
which contain information which is confidential or exempt from disclosure under the
Mississippi Public Records Act or other Taws shall be exempt_from this requirement
shall remain confidential.The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or
administrative action against a person who is issued a dec1aratory opinion from the
Board and who, in good faith, follows the direction of the opinion and acts in



accordance therewith unless a_court of competent jurisdiction holds that the opinion
is_manifestly wrong. Any declaratory opinion rendered by the Board shall be binding
only on the Board and the person to whom the opinion is issued. No declaratory
opinion will be used a precedent for any other transaction or occurrence beyond that
set forth by the requesting person.

2. SCHOOLS: APPROVAL OF

201. PROCEDURE FOR OPENING OF NEW SCHOOL

Procedure for filing an application for initial school approval.Any person
contemplating owning or operating a school must make an appointment with the board
to discuss in detail the operation and conduct of a school.Interested persons must
complete a Personal Survey Form and return to State Board of Cosmetology prior to
initial meeting with the Board.An application for a Ticense to conduct a school must
be submitted on an application form prescribed and provided by the Board,
accompanied by such evidence, statements or documents as required, and filed with
the Board at its office in Jackson, Ms.The following information must be provided
with the application:Required Fee.A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating
measurements for each area, and equipment layout.3. A detailed financial
statement which indicates financial solvency.The name, address and telephone number
of the manager/supervisor, and the name, address, and registration number of the
teacher(s) of the proposed school.A copy of the contract form to be used between the
school and the student.A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisementsAn
incomplete application will be returned to the applicant within thirty (30) days
after received by the Board, with the cause for the return.

The Initial Inspection Upon receipt and approval of Application for
Approval and Personal survey, the Board may conduct an initial inspection.

The inspection will be performed by two or more agents of the Board for the purpose
of determining:1. Suitability of:

The proposed location.Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.Proposed items of
equipment and material. Sat1sfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly Tlicensed
teachers and properly qualified manager/supervisor.The findings of the initial
inspection will be submitted to the Board for its approval at its next regular
meeting. The applicant will be notified in writing of the decision of the Board
within 30 days.

If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding requirements
for licensure and operation of a school of cosmetology, the Board may waive the
initial inspection, if it so desires.IV. Final Inspection and Approval of
Proposed Schools.

If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection
approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least
one of which will be a Board Member.The final inspection will be conducted in order
to determine that:1. AlTl requirements, as indicated in the application have been
strictly adhered to by owners of the proposed school.

School has_met_building or fire code_requirements as evidenced by copy of inspection
report by local authorities.No School will be approved until the Board has had ample
opportunity to verify sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other
claims and representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application
for Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report. If
all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written approval to
be issued. No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be allowed to
begin, until said approval has been executed.The Board reserves the right to deny
school approval to any applicant who fails to meet the requirements for conducting a
school and/or who fails to present satisfactory evidence of his or her business,
professional and personal integrity and experience.

Miscellaneous Information:Enro?1ments. Students may be registered, but not admitted
to class until such time as the school has received its final approval.Instructor.
Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time instructor who is charged
with the responsibility of the teaching program, and who is considered the lead
instructor. This person must hold an active current license in the state at the
time of application for school approval.The board may revoke or suspend the approval
of any school for any violation of any of the conditions set forth for licensing, or
if further investigation reveals misrepresentation on the part of the applicant.

202. REQUIRED SPACE FOR SCHOOLS



Schools must have a minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses
which they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory
classrooms, reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library,
dispensary/stock room, facial area, and Tocker area. This floor space is to
accommodate a maximum number of students and for every student thereafter, 25 square
feet of floor space per student must be added:Cosmetology Schools - 2500 square
feet, up to 40 students

Manicuring Schools - 1800 square feet, up to 28 students

Esthetics Schools - 1800 square feet, up to 28 students

A1l walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the
lecture room in schools of cosmetology must be so constructed as to provided for
continuous and uninterrupted supervision.

203. REQUIRED EQUIPMENT

A1l SchoolsA. Each school must have an_adequate supply of disinfectant and safety
equipment to insure that the school complies with sanitation

Rules 801 - 814, including: wet disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers, closed
cabinets for clean towels, covered soiled towel receptac1es, Targe covered trash
can, and first aid kit.

B. Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching of
both skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board,
bulletin board, reference Tibrary, and time clock or time sheets.

C. The minimum equipment requirement must remain in full force and effect so
long as the school remains in operation. ) )

D. A1l equipment must be maintained in a sanitary, safe operating order at all
times.

Cosmetology Schools:A. The minimum amount for a school of Cosmetology is as
follows:
7 F= T 1 <o 0B
.7(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must furnish, upon
enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good condition for his use throughout
the period of training.)
2. Time Clock or Time Sheet.............. (See Rule 308.C. and D.)
3. Shampoo Bowls and Chairs. . ... ... iiiiiin i ittt eanne s anannasennnnnns 5
(when the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional shampoo bowls must
be added at the ratio of one for each five students in average daily attendance 1in
excess of 20.)
3] Y7 =
.12 (when the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional

dryers must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in

average daily attendance in excess of 20.)

5. Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and
practitioner

3 oo Yo 2
........ 1

(when the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional facial chairs
must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in average daily attendance in
excess of 20.)

6. Manicure

(when the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional facial chairs
must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in average daily attendance in
excess of 20.)

7. cold wave Equipment: Sets of four doz. assorted rods................... 10

8. Thinning

SNEA S (PaT ) ottt sttt e e e e
Chemical Hair Straighteners with the following ingredients:Thiogylocate (bottle or
S Ut o =) 1 1

Sodium Hydroxide (bottle or

[0 Ul - o =) 1 1

Thermal Hair

Straighteners:Combs. .. ... . e



Stove (not required if comb eleCtric) .. ..ttt i ittt ettt 8

Curling iron (no larger than size “G’)....iuiiiiriiinnnn i tiannnnernnnnnneenns 8
11. Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure
table......cii it i i e 1

12. work station with chair and

111 T ol oY 20

Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and Towered either
mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel]). (when the average daily
agéeg?ance exceed 30 senior students, one additional station per student must be
adde

work table(s) for Junior

3 o3 e 1T o adequate.14. Classroom
chairs with desk resSt. ...t i i it i ettt s et et e st eananneenns 20
III. Esthetics Schools:

A. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which
esthetics only 1is taught is as follows:

1. Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment chair
.................................................................... 3

(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional facial chairs must
be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance 1in
excess of 3)

Esthetician’s stool

3(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional esthetician’s
stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily
attendance in excess of 3)

Facial vaporizer

3(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional vaporizers must
be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance 1in
excess of 3)

Pulverizer Spray (Mister)
...................................................................... 3(When the
average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional Pulverizer Sprays must be
agdgg at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess
o

Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal Apparatus......... 1High
Frequency Apparatus
................................................................... 3(When the
average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional high frequency apparatus
must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance
in excess of 3)

Heating Mask or hot

o001 3(When the
average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional heating masks must be added
at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)
Heating Mitts or paraffin with

10T o 3 pair(when the average daily
attendance exceeds 6 students, additional pairs of heating mitts must be added at
the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)
Infra-red

LT
.......... 3(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
infra-red lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average
daily attendance in excess of 3)

Ultra-violet Tamp

3(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional Ultra-violet
Tamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily
attendance in excess of 3)

woods Tamp



the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional Magnifying lamps must be
agded at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess
of 3)

Electric wax heater

.3(when the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional_utility tables
must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance
in excess of 3)

(In lieu of utility tables, one continuous counter top may be utilized)

TabTle for Machines ...t i i i annannnnnnns 1 per
machineCabinet for records cards
........................................................................ lLavatory
with hot and cold running water in the treatment area............. 1Iv. Departments
of Esthetics:

The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to include a
department of esthetics in its training program, must be at least one (1) of each
item specified for a school of esthetics.when the average daily attendance exceeds
two (2), the minimum equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every

two (2) students.V. Schools of Manicuring/Pedicuring: o )

A. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in
manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows: ) ]

1. Manicure table fitted with adjustable Tamp, client chair and operators stool
or

ol - T T

10
(when the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional manicure tables,
Tamps and stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average
daily attendance in excess of 10)
Covered containers for waste
(1= B ol <Y ol 1= 1 10(When the average daily
attendance exceeds 10 students, additional covered waste containers must be added at
the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)
Cushion (8" x 12") covered with a washable slip or sanitized towel on which clients
rest
o 1 10(whe
n the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional arm rests must be
agdeg)at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess
of 1
Supply tray for holding
COSME LT CS e v it vttt ettt m s a s s n s nnsnnsnsansansnsnsnsansnsnnsnssnsns 10(when the
average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional cosmetic trays must be
agdig)at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess
o
Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass with removal paper cups) for holding warm water
ANA CTEANS O . v vttt e e 10 (when the
average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional finger bowls must be added
ag)the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of
1
cotton
Lo T 0 1 o= B 1 4= o
........ 10(when the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, Additional cotton
containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily
attendance in excess of 10)
Electric heaters - for heating oil/lotion when providing a heat
=T T o B
.................... 10(when the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students,
additional electric heaters must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students
in average daily attendance in excess of 10)
Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring implements during
0] oo Yol =Y [T o =
........ 10(when the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
disinfection containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 10)



Basins for Pedicure

[0 T L 1] Y o T I T T T [T}
the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional cleanser basins must be
agded at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess
of 10)

Basins for pedicure rinse

L o - e 5(when the
average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional rinse water basins must be
agded at the ratio of one per every 2 students 1in average daily attendance in excess
of 10)

Electric nail files

2. Hand form with stand; demonstrational

PUNPOSES . v it et e et et st e s n s nsasnnnnnnnnnnnnn 5

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional hand forms must
be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in
excess of 10).

B. The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air.

204. NAME OF SCHOOL
A school of Cosmetology must be designated as such by a sign large enough to be
clearly Tegible.

205. SCHOOL ADVERTISING

Advertising of a_proposed school is to be Timited to the procurance of students.

A Ticensed school is allowed to_advertise the prices of clinical services outside
the premises as long as the following conditions are met:The advertisement will
clearly state, in bold print that “all work is performed by students”.No comparison
of prices is made to any other school or to Ticensed salons.206. SCHOOL
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP; ADDITION OF PARTNERS; CHANGE OF LOCATION; CHANGE OF TRADE
NAME; RENOVATION OF EXISTING SCHOOL.

No 1;cense is transferable from one owner to another or from one Tocation to
another.

I. Change of Ownership

A. School owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a
school must notify the board, in writing, prior to sell or transfer.

B. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the board by

the prospective owners, in accordance with Rules 201 through 203.

The sale or transfer must not be completed until the application of the new owner
has been approved.II. Addition of Partners:

School owners who contemplate the addition of a partner, must notify the board, in
writing, of their intent to so do.At any time the original applicant_is no longer a
partner in the school, an Application for Initial School Approval will be required,
in accordance with Rules 201 through 205.IIT. Change of Tocation:

School owners who contemplate a relocation of a school must submit an application
for relocation on a form prescribed and provided by the board. The approved
application requires the submission of, at least:A floor plan of the proposed
school, indicatin% room measurements, placing of equipment, partitions, entrances
and exists, and plumbing.Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials
in use or proposed to be used.Certificate or Tetter indicating that the facility has
met building or fire code requirements of local authorities.Schedule of teachers,
indicating full time/part time.Detailed Financial Statement indicating individual or
corporate solvency.Required fee.Relocation of a Cosmetology School within a radius
of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of:Copies of
brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there have been substantial
changes made.schedule of Teachers, unless there has been a change in those schedules
from that which is on file at the board.upon receipt and approval of Application_for
School Approval, the board may conduct an Initial Inspection. The inspection will
be performed by two or more agents of the Board of Cosmetology for purposes of
determining:Suitability of:the proposed TocationProposed rooms, including adequacy
of floor space, plumbing, lighting, etc, in accordance with floor plan.Proposed
items of equipment and material.satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly
licensed teachers and Manager/sSupervisor.The findings of this initial inspection
will be submitted to the board for its approval at its next regular meeting, and the
applicant will be notified in writing, of the decision of the board, within 30



days.If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding
requirements for_ Ticensure and operating of a school_of cosmetology, the Board may
waive the initial inspection if it so desires.If application is found to be in order
and the results of the initial inspection is approved, a final inspection will be
made by two (2) agents of the Board, at Teast one of which will be a board
member.The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all
requirements as indicated in the application, have been strictly adhered to by the
owners.School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by inspection
report of local authoritiesIf all requirements and qualifications are met, written
approval will be issued. No school will be considered approved for Ticensure until
same has been executed.The Cosmetology Board reserves the right to deny school
approval to any applicant who fails to meet the requirements for conducting a school
and/or who fails to present satisfactory evidence of his or her business,
professional and personal integrity.IV. Change of Trade Name:

A school must not change its trade name without having first notified the Board 1in
writing of its intent to do so.

Renovation:Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of
such alteration_or renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and
written approval must be received.

SATELLITE CLASSROOM:I. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training
space Tocated near the main school for the purpose of training an overflow of
students who cannot be accommodated at the main school.

A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure immediate
supervision by the main school. The satellite classroom may be no further than five
miles from the main school.A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom
location.cC. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its
satellite classroom location.

If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main school, board
approval does not continue for the satellite facility.The separate classroom must
bear the same name as the main school, and must be identified as such by an outside
sign.II. Application Procedure:

An application for a Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an application
form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such evidence, statements,
or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at its office in Jackson,
Mississippi.

The following is to be submitted with the application:1. A fee of $50.00),
which covers the cost of the inspection of the facility, and $10.00 for a duplicate
of the main school Tlicense.

An area map noting the Tlocation of the satellite school in respect to the main
school. The map must include an appropriate scale.A Floor plan, indicating total
square feet in the satellite classroom, and square feet of each section of the
classroom, if it should consist of more than one section.A description of the
outside sign.III. Approval Procedure:

Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom approval, the
Board will conduct an inspection to determine:The suitability of:the proposed
locationproposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,
ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor plan.Proposed items of
equipment and material.Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed
teacher(s).If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be
issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes be
allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been executed.
INSTRUCTION STAFFThere must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all
times, who holds a current, active license as an instructor in this
state.Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the
Board, a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time
employment.The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any
changes 1in instructor staff of a school of cosmetology.when the enrollment exceeds
20 students there must be added to the staff an additional full-time instructor for
every 20 students thereafter, Each student, including student instructor,
cosmetologist, manicurist, esthet1c1an, and part time is counted as full time
enrollment.For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student
instructors.Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the



Board of Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination. Arrangement must be made
for an instructor replacement during vacations, prolonged illness, etc. when the
instructor is absent for one day or Tless, a student instructor or senior student may
be left in charge. No chemical work is permitted when the school is left in the
charge of a senior student.An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited
from practicing on paying patrons except in a classroom situation where such
practice is for demonstration only.All practice work by student is to be supervised
and checked by an instructor licensed by this Board.All student instructors must at
all times, be under the direct supervision of an instructor who holds a current,
active Ticense issued by the Board, except as provided by Rule 208.VI..Any
instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the power drill or electric file
in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification that
they are proficient in the use of the instrument. All individuals seeking Ticensure
after January 1, 1998, must present this certification prior_to seeking Ticensure.
REQUIRE? DISPLAYAT1 schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to
the public:
Main School Facilities:The current school licenseThe current license of any
instructors teaching in the schoolThe current cosmetology license of any student
instructors.The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board.A notice, in letters
large enou?h to be read across the length of the room, that states: “All services 1in
this school are performed by students who are 1in tra1n1ng, all work must be
inspected by an instructor.”The manicuring power drill/electric file certification
of proficiency for any instructor teaching the use of same.Satellite Classroom
Facilities:Duplicate school Ticense.A sign, which states, “Satellite classroom only.
No clinic work performed in this facility.”
SEPARATION OF SCHOOLS FROM OTHER BUSINESSES:A school cannot be conducted with any
other business, including a salon. A school and another business must be separated
by walls of permanent construction, and must not have doors or openings between
them.Any school which was 1icensed prior to the effective date of these rules, and
which was approved for licensure contrary to this rule, is exempted from same.II.
Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale.

SERVICES FOR THE PUBLIC; RESTRICTIONSStudents may render services to the public only
under the direct supervision of a Ticensed instructor.A student in a school cannot
receive a salary or commission from the school for any cosmetology, manicuring,
pedicuring, wigology, or esthetic services while he 1is enrolled in the school as a
student.

212. STUDENT-SCHOOL CONTRACTS:

A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a
student. A contract between a school and a student must bear the signature of a
school official and the student or parent or guardian, if the student is under
eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the contract must be given to the
student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s student file.

SCHOOL INSPECTIONSI. The board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on
a regular basis as it deems necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is
Eo bg determination of compliance with the laws, rules, and regulations of the

oard.

II. In order to insure that operators of a newly licensed school understands and
fully complies with records keeping requirements as set out in Rule Section 3., a
special on-site audit may be performed.

A. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new
school’s operations.

B. The audit includes, at a minimum:

1. A review of the student academic files to insure that enrollment forms are

properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education requirements
are on hand.

2. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student credit
hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports.

3. An audit of student credit hours which shall encompass at least 10% of the
school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time.

4. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with students who

are no longer in attendance at the school.

SCHOOL CLOSURE:Immediately after a school ceases operations, it must notify the



board of the closure by Certified Mail.within ten (10) days after a school ceases
operation, it must forward student records to the board. These records must consist
of, but not be Timited to: enrollment information which has not been previously
submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a Final Report which
accurately reflects credit hours earned, through the last date of attendance, proof
of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the Board, a
report which certifies any financial obligation of the student to the school, along
with proof of that financial obligation. Files and documentation relating to
federal tuition assistance funding should not be forwarded to the Board of
Cosmetology.In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty
(30) days, that school is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new
Ticense 1is required in accordance with the Laws of the State of Ms., Section
73-7-16, and Rule 201, prior to operations resuming, either under original ownership
or new ownership, except by notice for vacation or break, or acts of God.

3. SCHOOLS; STUDENT ENROLLMENT; CURRICULUM; RECORDS

301. REQUIREMENTS FOR ENROLLMENT
I. Cosmetologist, manicurist, Esthetician and wigologist must:
Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent.Applicants who do not
have a high school diploma may submit transcript or report card as proof of their
educational qualifications. Proof of educational qualification must be submitted to
the board not Tater than 30 days after date of enrollment. After this time period,
no hours can be granted until the proof of educational qualification has been
received in the board office.At least 7 credits are required in order to be
considered as completion of a tenth grade education.Any student who enrolls with a
10th grade education must sign a_statement indicating that_they understand_that they
are not eligible to sit for the Ticensing examination until they have completed the
12th grade or its equivalent.4. when a student does not meet the educational
requirement, such student may take a GED. Results of such test must be filed not
Tater than 90 days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can
be granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the
board office.
B. Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is Tess than the minimum
Ticensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her Birth certificate
along with other enrollment documents.
C. Be able to read, write and speak English.

II. Student Instructor must:

Have_a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which_he/she is
enrolling as a student instructor.The registration number must be file with the
enrolling school and the board at the time of enrollment.The Tlicense of the student
instructor must be posted at the school, in a location conspicuous to the public,
and must be available for inspection by the board, or its authorized agent(s) during
regular business hours.Be no less than 20 years of age.Have a high school education
or its equivalent.Be a graduate of a licensed beauty school in this or any other
state.Be required to have proof of two (2) years active practical experience as a
Ticensed cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, as the case may be, when
enrolling in the 750 hour course for cosmetology instructor training or the 600 hour

course for esthetics or manicuring instructor training If the
student instructor Tlacks the required experience, then the course of training must
be:Cosmetology - 2000 hoursEsthetics - 1000 hoursMan1cur1ng - 1000 hoursaG. Be

able to read, write and speak English

EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIESThe following equipment and supplies must be issued by the

school, to each student, upon enrollment, according to their course of training:A.
Cosmetologist:

1. Approved textbook

Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations bookMannequinA kit which

contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:Rollers,

3 Y of = 4

dozen

2 T 1] 4T



Afro

2 1=
.................. 1

Large, heavy comb, for comb

0 1 B ol oo 1 o 1 1

Scissors, straight
.............................................................................. 1 pair
Razor & blades (box)
.............................................................................. 1
Curling Iron ( size no larger than a quarter)
.................................................. 1

Clippies, Box

D TR R R R
Shampoo cape

Rt R R
Tweezers

R R TR R R RS
Tint brush or applicator bottle
.................................................................. 1

Manicuring Equipment:

Pusher

R R TR LR R R
orange wood stick
......................................................................... 1

File or emery board
...................................................................... 1

Cuticle nippers
.............................................................................. 1

Manicuring:Approved Text bookMs. State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and )
Regulations Book.Hand form_and holderwet SanitizerA kit which contains the following
minimum equipment and supplies:Finger
20

Nail tips, various
ST ZBS e i ittt e e e e 1 package
Student sculpture kit, with powder, odorless liquid, brush, forms, and

Emery board,

P OOU LA . o e
R

Emery board,

Lo =
A

Buffer disks, fine & MediUm. .. .cu it ittt ittt tas s s ensarsnsansnsensnnennes 3
each

Cuticle nippers ( or scissors)



Tweezers

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be
dispensary items.)

Esthetics:1. Approved textbook
2. Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations Book
3 A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:

Skin Cleanser
4.é£: ...............................................................................
Skin Freshener

0z. }
Moisturizer

—
Foundation: Tight, medium and dark

D. wigology:

1. Approved textbook

2. Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations Book

3. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:



Afro Rake or
= Tl

Lé%ge Heavy
(00 1 TS
1

scissors,

STt . L oot e
...1 pair

Razor &

2175 Yo 1
.1 box

Texturizing

] LT 1

Ex;ensions ......................................................................... \Y,
ariety
Hair

water

Rollers,

3 Y o of =Y 4
Dozen

IT. A student is not to be required to pay for supplies used in assigned
practice work or in clinic floor patron services.

303. CURRICULUM

I. Cosmetologist: The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500
hours of training extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows:
A. Theory requirements: 230 hours in the following subjects:

Sanitation and Disinfection
Personal Hygiene

Professional Ethics & Salesmanship
Anatomy

Trichology

onychology

Chemistry

Safety Precautions

State Cosmetology Law, Rule and Regulations
Skill Demonstration

Any other related theory subjects



1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a Ticensed
instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire course of
instruction.

2. Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons.
B. Skill Requirements: 1200 hours in the following subjects:

Shampoos and Rinses

Scalp and Hair Treatments

Hair Shaping; Scissors and Razor

Hair styling, including Pin Curls and Finger Wwaves

Care and Styling of wigs

Manicure and Pedicure

Permanent Waving

Hair Coloring and Lightening

Chemical Hair Relaxing

Facials and Makeup

Thermal Pressin%

Croquignole Curling

Safety Precautions

Salon Management

Any other related skill subjects

Skill training and clinic work will be assigned and supervised by a Ticensed
instructor

C. Unassigned: 70 hours, theory or skill, used at instructor’s discretion as
need of student dictates. ) _
II. Manicurist: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 350 hours

of training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:

Theory Requirements: 85 hours in the following subjects:Personality and Professional
Conduct

Bacteriology

Sanitation and Disinfection

Manicuring

Pedicuring

Disease and Disorders of the Nail

Anatomy and Physiology of the Hand, Arm, Foot and Leg

Salon Management & Business Practices

State Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations

Safety Precautions

Skill Demonstration

Any other related theory subjects

Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a Ticensed instructor on
the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire period of
instruction.Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on
patrons.skill Requirements: 265 hours in the following subjects:Manicure: Plain and
Specialty

Pedicure: Plain and Specialty

Sculptured Nails

Nail Tips

Nail overlays

Nail Mends

Fill-ins

Electric Nail File

Sanitation and Disinfection

Safety Precautions

Salon Management

Any other related skill subjects

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor

III. Esthetician: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 600 hour of
training extended over a period of not less than 15 weeks is as follows:

Theory Requirements: 100 hours in the following subjects:Sanitation and Disinfection
Personal; Hygiene

Professional Ethics and Salesmanship

Anatomy and Physiology of skin

Chemistry

Hair Removal



Use and Maintenance of Electrical Implements and Machines

Safety Precautions

Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations

Skill Demonstration

Any other related theory subjects

1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire period of
instruction.

2. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons.
Ski1l Requirements: 500 hours in the following subjects:skin Conditions and
Treatments

Client Consultations

Sanitation and Disinfection

Skin Care: Manual

Skin Care: Machine

Professional Makeup

Hair Removal

Beautification of Eyes

Salesmanship

Salon Management

Safety Precautions

Any other related skill subjects

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a Ticensed
instructor.

IV. wig Specialist: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 300
hours of training extended over a period_of not less than 8 weeks is as follows:
Theory Requirements: 75 hours in the following subjects:Sanitation and Disinfection
Personal Hygiene

Professional Ethics and Salesmanship

Bacteriology

wig Care

wig Shaping

wig Coloring

wig Fitting and Adjusting

Extensions, Braiding, and wWeaving

Safety Precautions

State Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations

Skill Demonstration Classes

Any other related theory subject

Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed instructor on
the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire period of
instruction.Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on
patrons.skill Requirements: 225 hours in the following subjects:Wig Shampooing and
Conditioning

wig Shaping: Scissors and Razor

wig Care and Styling

wig Coloring

Extensions, Braiding and weaving: Blocking and Sewing

wig Measuring: Blocking and Fitting

Safety Precautions

Salon Management

Any other related skill subjects

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a Ticensed
instructor.

V. Student Instructor:

The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology instructor
training course consists of:750 hours for those applicants with two or more years
active experience.2,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active

experience.The subject matter and hours for each are: 750
hour Course 2000 Hour Course

12 hours Theory Observation 32 hours

68 hours Skill Observation 181 hours

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)

164 hours The Professional Teacher 437 hours

Including:



Teacher Personality
Technical Knowledge
Teacher Characteristics
Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching;
Planning the Course
Lesson Plans
Steps of Teaching
99 hours Student Motivation and Learning 264 hours
Including:
Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner Vs. Gifted Learner
332 hours Methods, Management & 885 hours
Materials
Including:
Methods, Procedures &
Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials
65 hours Testing and Evaluation 174 hours
10 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and 27 hours
Regulations
4, of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up to
10% as student needs may require.
B. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for an esthetician
instructor training course and a manicurist instructor training course consists of:
1. 600 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience.
2. 1,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience.

3. The subject matter and hours for each are:
600 hour Course 1000 Hour Course
10 hours Theory Observation 16 hours
54 hours Skill Observation 90 hours
(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)
131 hours The Professional Teacher 223 hours
Including:
Teacher Personality
Technical Knowledge
Teacher Characteristics
Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching;
Planning the Course
Lesson Plans
Steps of Teaching
79 hours Student Motivation and Learning 132 hours
Including:
Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner Vs. Gifted Learner
264 hours Methods, Management & 436 hours
Materials
Including:
Methods, Procedures &
Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials

54 hours Testing and Evaluation 90 hours
8 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and 13 hours
Regulations

4. of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up to



10% as student needs may require.

C. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor is required to
have completed twelve semester hours in co]]ege courses approved by the board. It
is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject matter from the
board prior to actual enrollment in the courses.

1. At Teast one three-hour course must be acquired within a classroom setting;
all others may be acquired through self study or correspondence courses. ]
Z.b_ Three of the required twelve hours must be acquired in one of the following
subjects:

Introduction & Philosophy of Vocational Education
Development & Use of Instructional Materials
vocational Curriculum Development

Methods of Instruction

Communications

Testing & Evaluation

Business Law

English

Business Administration

Any other Methodology course, with Board approval
3. The additional hours may be acquired in any combination of the following
elective subjects:

Psychology

Sociology

Mathematics

Trade & Job Analysis and Course Construction

Methods of Teaching Trade Subjects

Shop Organization & Management

Computer

Principles of High School Teaching

Adult Learner

Disadvantaged & Handicapped Student

Industrial Human Relations

safety & First Aid ( must include CPR

Problems of the Family

Any other related courses, with Board Approval

4. Proof of the acqu1s1t1on of the course must be submitted to the Board in the
form of an original transcript from the college or university from which the courses
are acquired. The transcript must bear_ the seal of the school and the signature of
the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable.

D. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one
Board “methods of teaching” seminar. ) ]
VI. Cross Over Barbers: The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500

hour course, as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than
12 %» weeks is as follows:

Theory Requirements: 65 hoursTheory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom
by a licensed instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the
entire period of instruction.Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to
work on patrons.skill Requirements: 435 hours:Skill training and clinic work is to
be assigned and supervised by a Ticensed instructor.

VII. Credit hours may be granted to a student in any course of training for
demonstrations and for product knowledge being taught by suppliers, provided:

A Ticensed instructor is in attendance at all times.The demonstrator holds a current
permit issued by the board for this purpose.If the demonstration/product knowledge
is acquired off-campus, a sign-in sheet must be maintain by the school authority,
and a copy sent to the board with the next regular monthly report.

ATTENDANCE:Full-time students may be credited with no more than 40 hours weekly.
Hours acquired in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as make-up
hours, provided they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were
acquired.A high school student wishing to enroll part-time must acquire no less than
two (2) months training as a full-time student before being allowed part-time
status.Student Instructor:Cosmetology instructor training extends over a period of
not less than nineteen (19) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 hours
weekly are credited.Esthetics and manicuring instructor training extends over a



period of not less than fifteen (15) week, provided however, that not more than 40
hours weekly are credited.when the required number of hours has been acquired, the
individual can no longer function as a “student instructor”. 1In order to function
in an instructional capacity at any school, the student must make application for
examination, as stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Laws of the State of Ms., Ann.,
Amend. ,Break in Attendance/Failure to apply for examination:Where there is a break
in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no more than five (5) years, students
will be credited with two-thirds of the original hours acquired. Where such break
in attendance exceed five (5) years, but Tess than ten (10), students are credited
with one-half of the original hours acquired. After a break in attendance of ten
(10) or more years, no hours are credited.where a portion of the hours for the
completion of a course of training was acquired out-of-state, but the student did
not complete the_course in that state, the break in attendance rule applies to the
student who enrolls in a school in Mississippi for the completion of his/her
training.where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or
any other state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of
said course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the individual is
eligible for examination. The following rates of credit apply:1l. 366 days to
three years:

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was completed.
over three years to seven years:25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of
training which was completed.

Oover seven years:50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which
was completed.

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the
end of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an application for
examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the application can be
approved, the individual scheduled for examination, and examination grades received
and recorded.

This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or failure to
acquire Ticensure is due to a service in armed forces during period of war.Any hours
acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a manicuring,
esthetics, or wig specialist_course, provided the hours acquired during the
cosgeto1o?y 5ra1n1ng are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are
to be applie

TRANSFER STUDENTSHours acquired are transferable from one licensed school to
another.No consideration is given by the board for transfer until all financial
obligations to the attendant school have been met.

INSIGNIA OR BADGESEach student and instructor engaged in a course of training must
wear a badge signifying his/her status:

Ereshman insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240
ours

Junior insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours

Senior insignia worn by cosmeto1o%y students with 750 to 1500 hours
Instructor insignia worn by Ticensed 1instructors

Student Instructor insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training
Manicurist insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course
Esthetician insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics
course

wig Specialist insignia worn by all students engaged in wigology training
Special Trainee insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up
training

WORK UPON PAYING PATRONA student enrolled in a_school for a course of training can
be _assigned work upon a patron for services only after he/she has completed the

following hours of training and instruction:Cosmetologist 240 hours
Manicurist 40 hours
Esthetician 96 hours

wig Specialist 48 hours

Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the
course of training except cosmetic sale commissions or tips.An instructor or student
instructor can not work upon a patron paying for services unless he/she is doing so
in a teaching situation.

RECORDS, FORMS AND APPLICATIONSAl1l records must be made available to the board or
any of 1its agents at any time during business hoursEach student must make



application for enrollment on forms approved by the Board.The original of the
enrolTment form must be filed with the board office no later than 30 days after the
date of enrollment. After this time, no hours are granted until the enrollment form
has been received in the board office.The following must be submitted with the
enrollment form:Proof of at least a tenth (10th) grade education, or 1its equivalent
(see Rule 301.A.1.)A statement certifying that the student has received the
following:a. Copy of student/school contract

Copy of school rules and regulations

Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Law, and Rules and Regulations book.
Approved text book

Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be

Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the board.

-0 QNT

Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the board,
when starting or completing daily instruction or tra1n1ng, when leaving and
returning to school premises, and the commencement and termination of Tlunch
period.Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and
hours of applied effort. No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time
sheet verifying attendance is on file.uUnless the school utilizes a time clock, the
board approved “Student Daily Sign-in and out Sheet” must be used.All student clock
hours must be derived from either a time card or the approved form; no other s
accepted by the board to substantiate the students’ acquired hours.If a student
fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in or out for a
student, hours are not granted for that time period.Should an error occur, changes
may be made only by the supervising instructor and must bear the signature of the
instructor and the student at the point of change. Failure to do so results in
non-credit of hours for that time period.A daily report, approved by the Board, must
be utilized by each student, which Tists all subjects taught in the course of
training and provided in the curriculum.The daily report must recapitulate the
student’s work for the day, and must support the time card/sign-in sheet for that
day.The daily report must be maintained at the student’s work station and must be
initialed by both the instructor and the student daily.on or before the 10th of each
month following enrollment, a monthly summary report of hours acquired on each
student must be submitted to the office of the board, and one copy must be posted on
the bulletin board in the school.In the event a student withdraws from classes
before completing the course, a final transcript of his/her hours and grades,
certified by the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A copy of the
final transcript must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to the
student.Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is
approved by the school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as
approved by the board.Upon completion of training, a final transcript of student
hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the Board within 30
days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by the
school at no cost to the student.All records must be retained by the school for a
period of five years, and until such time as the student has been licensed.The Board
reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any time it deems
necessary during business hours.

LICENSING EXAMINATION PASS/FAIL RATIO:The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of
the results of each student’s licensing examination, by school. If, at any time, it
is determined that the average grades of graduates of a school, fall below 70
(passing) on either the written examination or any segment of the practical
examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will take the following
action:The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with
the Board to discuss the problem.within 30 days from the date of the meeting with
the Board, the school will submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which
will indicate their awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient
detail what steps they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio.The
school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve the
average grades to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an
insufficient number of students have graduated or qualified for examination to allow
a fair review of the examination average, the board may, at its discretion, allow a
compliance plan to be in effect for Tonger than six months.II. At the conclusion of
the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination grades of the
school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to suspend or
revoke the school license.



4. EXAMINATIONS

401. EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY

I. ETigibiTlity Requirements

Cosmetologists, manicurists, estheticians, and wig specialists must:Be at least 17
years of age.Be able to read, write and speak Eng?ish Have at Teast a twelfth (12th)
grade education or its equivalent.a. Proof of completion of high school education
may be submitted in the form of a diploma, or transcript which re%1ects graduation
data. If the education was acquired by GED, an original GED transcript must be
submitted to the Board.

b. where the secondary education was obtained outside of the United States, the
applicant must present a copy of the proof of completion, along with an original
translation which has been prepared by an approved translation or credentialing
service, and which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the
equivalent of a 12th grade education.

Additional information may be required if it has been determined, or there is reason
to believe that a candidate for examination has submitted as proof of high school
education, a diploma or transcript acquired under one or more of the following

circumstances: (1) The institution is not accredited by the Department of
Education in the relevant state

2 The institution is not accredited by a recognized proprietary school
accrediting association

3 The candidate may have completed a self-study course.

Successfully complete a course of training for which application for licensure is
being made.B. An application for examination must be submitted on a form
prescribed by the Board and accompanied by the following:

1. Required fee.

2. Two recent head photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days prior to

application.
3. Certified transcript of completion of a course of training for which
application for Ticensure is being made, as stipulated in Rule 303., and reflecting
a grade average of no Tess than 85%.

C. The Board_will make reasonable accommodations for candidates having a
physical or mental impairment that Timits one or more major life activities, as
defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act. An “Accommodation Request Form”
should be submitted with the application for examination. Additional information
regarding qualifying for special accommodation should be addressed to the Board,
attention of the School Coordinator’s Department.

II. Out-Dated License:

Any person who has been licensed in this sate, and whose license has expired for a
period of three (3) or more years, must make application for examination.The
application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and
must be accompanied by:The required fee.Two recent head photographs of the
applicant, taken within 90 days prior to application.

Record of Tast renewal, including registration number, and date of expiration.III.
out of State App11cant:

Any person who is licensed by a state with whom Mississippi does not have provision
for reciprocity Tlicensure, or any student who is at least seventeen years of age,
can read, write, and speak English, and has successfu11y completed a course of
training 1in another state which meets this state’s minimum requirements, but is not
Ticensed in that state, may be eligible for Ticensure by examination.B. Prior to
making application for examination, the applicant must:

1. Complete an Application of Intent. The Board approved form, out of State
Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Examination must be completed in its
entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

2. a. Provide 1nformat1on related to the completion of a course of
training which meets this state’s minimum requirements:

Cosmetologist 1500 hours

Manicurist 350 hours
Esthetician 600 hours
wigologist 300 hours

The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the board in
which the training was acquired or the Ticense is held. If the state in which the
applicant is currently Ticensed is also the state in which the training was



acquired, then only one affidavit is required; otherwise, the applicant must obtain
two affidavits as applicable.

b. The affidavit/certification of training must:

(@D) be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the Ticensing
authority.

2 bear the_seal-impress of the Ticensing authority.

3) bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.

C. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:

D applicant’s name and address

2 applicant’s Registration Number or Ticense identification number (if
applicable)

3) the course 1in which applicant was enrolled

@ total credit hours earned

(5 date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals only)

(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including expiration
date and whether the Ticensee 1is 1in good standing.

d. In the event the information cannot_be provided by the Ticensing authority,

it may be obtained from the attendant school, however it must be submitted to the
Mississippi State Board of Cosmeto1ogy d1rect1y from the school, or in a sealed
envelope bearing the school “Tetterhead”, must bear the seal- 1mpress of the school,
and be certified by an agent of the school. The Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology reserves the right to deny Certification of Training submitted by a
school if it is determined that the information can be provided by the appropriate
Ticensing authority.
3. Appear for an Application ETligibility Interview

Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and
Aff1dav1t/Cert1f1cat1on of Training, which meets the examination requirements of the
state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of
the date and time.

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the
interview:

@) Photographic identification.

(a) Applicant must present two (2) current photographs to be attached to his or

her application for examination. A full face photo is required; profiles are not
acceptable. The photograph must be recognizable as the person who is making
application for examination.

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic identification card
which contains the applicant’s signature and date of birth. 1In the event of a name
change, legal proof of the change must be presented.

2 Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the applicant.
In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change must be presented

3 Any applicant who uses or proposes to use an electric file in any manicuring
procedure must present an acceptable certification attesting to proper training in
the use of the instrument.

C. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to
apply for examination:

(@D) to determine that the applicant is at Teast 17 years of age.

2 To determine that the applicant is able to read, write and speak English.
3 To determine that the applicant has a 12th grade education or its

equivalent. The applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable
documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its equ1va1ent Where the
secondary education was obtained outside of the United States, the applicant must
present a copy of the proof of completion, along with an original translation which
has been prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and which
certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent of a 12th grade
education.

Additional information may be required if it has been determined, or there is reason
to believe that a candidate for examination has completed high school under one or
more of the following circumstances:

(a) The institution is not accredited by the Department of Education in the
relevant state ) ) ] ) )
(b) The institution is not accredited by a recognized proprietary school

accrediting association
(o The candidate may have completed a self-study course.



@ The candidate will not be considered to have a 12th grade education or 1its
equivalent if it is determined that one or more of the following circumstances
exist:

The institution from which the diploma or transcript was acquired is not sanctioned
or accredited by a state supported educational credentialing entity, orThe candidate
completed a self_study program in which progress examinations and final examinations
were not physically supervised by one or more staff members of the institution or a
recognized examination administration/proctor service.C. If the applicant
fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements for examination,
he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the reason
for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an
Administrative Hearing before the Board.

D. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements,
he or she will be required to:

1. Complete an Application for Examination. The Board approved form, out of
State Applicants/Application for Examination, must be completed in its entirety.

2. Pay the required fee. The preva111ng fee is that which has been established
by Law, Section 73-7-29, and may be submitted by personal check, cashier’s check,
money order, or cash.

3. Take the practical examination, the National written examination, and the
State written examination.

IV. Instructor — In-State:

A. Examination eligibility requirements:

1. Must be at least 21 years of age.

Must be able to read, write and speak EnglishMust possess a h1gh school education or
its equivalencyMust possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.Must have
completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.Must
have successfully completed a course of training for which application for licensure
is being made.Must have attended at least one mandatory Board ”methods of teaching”
seminar earning a minimum of 5.0 continuing education hours.Application must be
accompanied by:Required feeTwo (2) recent head photographs, taken within 90 days
prior to application.Certified transcript of completion of the course of training
for which application for examination is being made.Certified original transcript
evidencing successful completion of twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the Board.Copy of current practitioner’s license.out of State
Instructor:A. Examination eligibiTlity requirements:
Must be at least 21 years of age.Must be able to read, write and speak EnglishMust
possess a h1gh school education or its equ1va1encyMust possess a current Mississippi
practitioner’s license.Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college
courses approved by the Board.Must have successfully completed a course of training
for which application for licensure is being made.Must have attended one mandatory
Board” methods of teaching” seminar.The application must be submitted on a form
prescribed by the Board and must be accompanied by:Required feeTwo (2) recent_head
photographs, taken within 90 days prior to application.3. Proof of completion
of high school education or its equivalent.
An affidavit, on a form approved by the Board, completed and signed by the board
official in the state from which the current license is held, attesting to education
and Ticensure status.6. Certified original transcript evidencing successful
completion of twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.

. Copy of Current Mississippi practitioner’s license.
VI. out of Country Applicant:
Any person who is Ticensed or registered to practice by a county other than the
United States, or any person who has successfully completed a course of training in
a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s minimum
requirements, may submit an application for examination.The application must be
submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and must be accompanied by:The required
fee.Two recent head photographs taken within 90 days prior to application.A copy of
current out-of-country license or certificates.Proof of at Teast a 12th grade
education or its equivalent.Certification from the registering agency or the school
in which the training was acquired, reflecting the number of training hours earned,
and the curriculum subjects.VII. Grade Average
ATl students enrolled in a school as an instructor trainee, cosmetologist,
manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist, must maintain an average grade of not
Tess than 85% in both the theory and pract1ca1 segments of the course in order to be
eligible to apply for examination for licensure.Any student with a final transcript



indicating that there is Tless than the 85% average in either or both segments, must
first return to school and successfully pass any testing or meet whatever criteria
that the school may set forth to bring the average to the required 85%, prior to
being accepted for examination.

PERMIT TO WORKStudent, or Student Instructor:Any student or student instructor who
has completed the total number of prescribed hours in a course of training may be
issued a permit to work in that capacity, upon request, provided the following
requirements have been met:An application for examination has been made, and
approved by the board.An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a
form approved by the Board, which includes the following information:Name and
address of the establishment in which application is to be employed.Establishment
registration number, current license number and expiration date of Ticense.Name of
supervising licensee. (Supervisor)supervisor registration number, current license
number, and expiration date of_Tlicense.B. Permit to_work is not processed
unless all information is complete or if either the establishment or supervisor
Ticenses are expired, or if false information is reflected on the application.

The supervising Ticensee must be employed on a full-time basis by the establishment
in which the student has made application for a permit. If it is necessary for the
supervisor to be out of the salon on occasion, another licensed practitioner must be
designated to oversee the work of the student.A student instructor who has been
issued a permit to work is not required to be under the constant supervision of a
licensed instructor.C. An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’s
name, directly to the employing establishment.

Any student found to be working in any establishment before receipt of a temporary
permit to work will be sent home by the state board agent.Any establishment owner
found to be employing a student without a temporary work permit will be cited for
employing non-licensed personnel, and such case could be cause for establishment
Ticense suspension.If any student has received a temporary permit to work and fails
any portion of the practical or written examination, that student is no longer be
eligible to work.The student and the employing establishment will be notified of the
student’s ineligibility to work.The employing estabTlishment will be notified to
return the permit immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student to continue
working, could be considered just cause for suspension of the establishment Ticense
and denial of the student’s licensure.Failure to appear for examination when called,
results in cancellation of permit to work, except in the case of documented illness
or death in the immediate family.The student and the employing establishment will be
notified of the student’s ineligibility to work.The employing establishment will be
notified to return the permit immediately. Failure to do so or for the student to
continue working, could be considered just cause for suspension of the establishment
Ticense, and denial of the student’s Ticensure.No student under the authority of the
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology may work as a practitioner in a salon while
in the process of acquiring their training.II. out-dated Applicant

Any applicant who has been previously Ticensed in this state and who has failed to
renew their license within a three_year period, may be issued a Permit to work,

under the following conditions.Application for examination is made within three
years of the out-dated status, that is, up to six years from the date of Ticense
expiration. After this time has passed, no Permit to Work will be 1issued.
EXAMINATIONSAn examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both
written and practical.The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination,
minimal skills and knowledge necessary for the license sought.The applicant must
successfully complete a written examination demonstrating knowledge of professional,
health and safety methods, and procedures and knowledge of Mississippi Statutes and
rules pertinent to the practice of cosmetology at the Tevel of the license
sought.II. Grades necessary to pass examination:

Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology
examination will be granted a Ticense to practice if such person makes an
examination grade of not less than 70 on each portion of the practical examination,
and not less than 70 on both the state and national written examination.

Instructor Examinee: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor examination
will be granted a Ticense to practice if such person makes an examination grade of
not less than 75 on each portion of the practical examination, and not less than 75
on both the state and national written examination. III. oral
Examinations: If a person has failed to make a passing grade in the written segment
of the basic examination, an oral examination may be considered upon the written
request of the school in which his/her course of training was acquired. No oral



examination will be considered on the first attempt, except in those cases where the
individual has a disability as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, and
required special accommodation which could be satisfied with the administration of
an oral examination.

IV. The board will make and keep an accurate record of each examination.

EXAMINATION FEE FORFEITUREThe fee received for application for examination and
Ticensure is forfeited if

Licensure fee: An applicant fails to appear for examination within 90 days of
receipt of application, provided however, in no case will a forfeiture occur because
of failure of the board to schedule an approved applicant for
examination.Examination Fee: Applicant fails to appear for examination when
scheduled except in the case of_documented illness or death in immediate family.
FAILURE TO QUALIFYI. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after
three attempts is not eligible for re-examination until he or she has returned to a
school for additional training and met whatever criteria is deemed necessary by the
school to prepare applicant for successful examination.

II. A candidate for Ticensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the
examination, is required to retake only the portion of the examination which was
failed, up to a period of three years. After three years, the grades are no longer
valid an? the candidate 1is required to take the entire examination, both written and
practica

5. CONTINUING EDUCATION

DEFINITIONSAs used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires:

I. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months)

II. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours
may be acquired.

III. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training.

IV. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist

V. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.

VI. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association.

VII. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

VIII. “NCA” means National Cosmetology Association of Mississippi

IX. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a
request to present a continuing education event.

X. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association.

XI. “T & T” means Mississippi State Department of Education,

Vocational-Technical Bureau, Trade and Technical Division.

502. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:

Instructor and Master Cosmetologist:In order to renew an instructor’s license in an
active status, proof of acquisition of twenty-four (24) CEIT hours must be submitted
to the board biennially on a form approved by the board.The biennial period is
twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification for Tlicensure as an
instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter.Licensed instructors must
attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned methods of teaching seminar earning a
minimum of 5.0 continuing education hours per biennial period in order to renew the
instructor’s license in an active status.At the time of renewal of an instructor’s
Ticense, his/her record is reviewed for compliance at the end of the most recent
biennial period.An instructor who fails to acquire 24 hours CEIT during their
biennial period will be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain an
additional 24 hours CEIT before the Ticense can be made active, i.e., hours may not
be carried forward for the purpose of making an inactive Ticense active.A Master
Cosmetologist license may be issued to any individual who makes application for
same, on a form prescribed by the board provided:He/she has been licensed as a
cosmetologist in this state for at Teast twelve (12) months.He/She has submitted
proof of having acquired sixteen (16) hours of continuing education approved by the
board during the Ticensing period prior to application.A master cosmetologist
Ticense may be renewed by submitting proof of having completed eight (8) hours of
continuing education approved by the board.CEIT/MC hours are computed by the
following formula:Total minutes of Actual Contact



60 = Total Hours
(Rounded off to_nearest quarter hour)
No person is allowed to claim more than six hours of CEIT/MC credit through
electronically recorded transmitted, or reproduced materials, even though same may
be presented by an approved provider.
Credit is given for CEIT/MC hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all
requirements set forth by the board have been met:Category One: Organized course
work or activities in_cosmetology or cosmetology related subject matter, such as
hair-cutting, chemical services, manicuring, pedicuring, esthetics, management or
Cosmetology Rules and Regulations. Included are seminars, short courses, and
workshops, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences.Credit
accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact.An individual must actually
be in attendance for each contact hour claimed. No credit is given for missed
sessions, social hours, breaks and related activities, or business meetings.Unless
credit hours are acqu1red in Category Two, a minimum of four (4) CEIT/MC hours must
be acquired in Category One.All credit hours may be acquired in Category One, but
participants are encouraged to distribute their activities among other categories.In
order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC hours in this category, the
following criteria must be met: The activity must have significant
1nte11ectua1 or practical_content and its primary objective must be to increase the
participant’s professional competency as an instructor or master cosmetologist.The
activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent experience in
offering CEIT/MC courses. Demonstrated ability arising part1y from the extent to
which individuals with training or educational experience are involved in the
planning, instruction, and supervision of the activity.The following providers are
recognized by the board has having met the criteria set forth above:Mississippi
Cosmetology School AssociationMississippi Independent Beauticians
AssociationMississippi State Board of CosmetologyMississippi State Department of
Education, T & T DivisionNational Cosmetology Association of MississippiSchool
owners and Teachers Associationout of State Continuing education certified by that
State’s board, commission, or department or registration & Ticensure.Other providers
may be approved as their identities and programs are confirmed by the board.The
board may, at any time, re-evaluate a program and revoke approval of the
provider.The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified
by practical or academic experience. The program, including the named advertised
participant, must be conducted substantially, as planned, subject to emergency
withdrawals and_alterations.Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefu1?y prepared
written materials must be made ava11ab1e to all participants at or before the time
the course is presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized as
reasonable and approved by the board; mere outline without citations or explanatory
notations are not sufficient.The activity must be conducted in a physical setting
conducive to Tearning.As a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four
hours of actual instruction.Activities that cross academic lines, such as a
financial aid seminar, may be considered for approvalThe costs of the program to the
participant, apart from optional meals, lodging, travel, etc., should be reasonable
considering subject matter. Instructional Tevel, etc.Any provider desiring approval
of a course, program, or other activity, must apply to the board on a form approved
by the board by submitting all supporting documentation no less than forty-five days
prior to the date for which the course or program is scheduled.The board will advise
the_applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the completed
application whether the activity is approved or disapproved. Applicants denied
approval of a program or activity may appeal such decision by submitting a letter of
appeal to the board within fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the
approval.The provider of an approved CEIT/MC activity may advertise in informational
brochures and program provided by the provider, as follows:“This course has been
approved by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology for a maximum of __ hours
credit in continuing education for instructor or master cosmetologist.’
The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its employees can
verify that the subjects being presented conform to the board’s policies. The board
has the right to freely enter and observe all or appropriate portions of such
activities.The board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a particular
activity.IT. Category Two: Successful completion of organized course work or
activities which bestow college credit not specifically cosmetology or cosmetology
related, but which are professionally enriching or directly benefitting the
individual in his/her present position.



Credit accrues at the rate of twelve (12) CEIT/MC hours for each three (3) semester
hours. ATl credit hours may be acquired in Category Two.

III. Category Three: Development, preparation, and presentation of an activity,
such as described in Category One, which requires effort beyond the general scope of
the individual’s normal duties or job description.

Credit accrues at the rate of two (2) contact hours for each hours of presentation.
After meeting the minimum requirement of Category One hours, all other credit hours
may be acquired in Category Three.

IV. Category Four: Teaching an approved CEIT activity, provided that
presentations are accompanied by through, high quality, readable, and carefully
prepared materials. (Generated by the presenter).

Credit accrues at the rate of:Four (4) hours credit for each instructional hours of
presentation, if all criteria are met.Two hours credit for each instructional hour
of presentation if presentation accompanied by one or two page outlines, or not
accompanied by written materials.Repeat presentations accrue at one half the credit
applicable to the initial presentation.After meeting the minimum requirement of
Category One hours, all other credit hours may be acquired in Category Four.V.
Category Five: Preparation, writing and publication of cosmetology or cosmetology
related subject matter which requires effort beyond the general scope of the
individual’s duties or job description.

Credit accrues at the rate of:15 hours for each publication requiring technical
review.5 hours for an article or series of articles of a substantial nature 1in
magazines, newspapers, or similar publications.After meeting the minimum requirement
of Category One hours, all other credit hours may be acquired in Category Five.VI.
Category Six: Self-improvement in cosmetology or cosmetology related subjects.
Included is participation in or attendance at meetings such as those conducted by
state board of cosmetology or professional associations.

The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of the
participants knowledge (MC) or to the teaching or cosmetology, manicuring, wigology,
esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master
cosmetologists or instructors, or any related field of expertise.

In order to_receive any credit in_this category, an individual claiming hours for
professional meetings, etc., should make certain that proof exists of their
participation, such as inclusion on registration lists, etc. The burden of
furnishing proof of compliance rests with the licensee.Credit accrues at the rate of
% contact hour for each hour of activity.No more than three (3) hours credit are
allowed in this category. VII. Category Seven: Holding an elected or
appointed office or active committee assignment in the MSBC or allied professional
organizations.

Credit accrues at the rate of:Five (5) hours per year for holding office or chairing
an assignment.Two (2) hours per year for active committee membership.After meeting
the minimum hour requirement of Category One, all hours may be acquired in this
category.

DOCUMENTATION OF CONTINUED EDUCATION HOURSI. Instructors: On or before the
renewal of a Ticense after the close of the most current biennial period, an
instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours earned in any category
other than categories One, Three or Four. The documentation must be applicable
proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.
The documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One, Three and Four,
must verify completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing
education, 1in order to renew a license in an active status.

II. Master Cosmetologist:

In order to receive a license as a master cosmetologist, an applicant must submit
documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other than
categories One, Three or Four. The documentation must be app11cab?e proof of
participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed. The
documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One, Three and Four, must
verify completion of the required sixteen (16) hours of continuing education.In
order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, an applicant must submit
documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other than
categories One, Three or Four. The documentation must be app11cab?e proof of
participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed. The
documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One, Three and Four, must
verify completion of the required eight (8) hours of continuing education.III. The
Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for reported



activities. when asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing proof
of compliance rests with the Ticensee.

6. LICENSING

601. RECIPROCITY:

I. An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom
Mississippi is reciprocal may be eligible for licensure_in accordance with Law,
Section 73-7-23. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology maintains a list of
states with whom Mississippi is reciprocal.

II. Prior to making application for reciprocity, the applicant must:

A. Complete an Application of Intent. The Board approved form, out of State
Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Reciprocity must be completed in its
entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

B. 1. The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued
by the board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the
state in which the applicant is currently Ticensed is also the state in which the
training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. where the current
Ticense 1is held in one state and original Tlicense or education was obtained in a
different state, and the state of current licensure will not attest to the
applicant’s tra1n1ng, an affidavit is also required from the state of origin.

2. The affidavit/certification of training must:

a. be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the Ticensing
authority.

b. bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority.

C. bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.
3. The aff1dav1t/cert1f1cat1on of training should contain, at a minimum:
a. applicant’s name and address

b. applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number

C. the course in which applicant was enrolled

d. total credit hours earned

e. Information regarding current license, including expiration date and whether
the licensee is 1in good standing.

C. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview

1. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity requirements of the
state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of
the date and time.

2. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the
interview:

. Photographic identification.
@B Applicant must present a current photograph to be attached to his or her

application for reciprocity. A full face photo is required; profiles are not
acceptable. The photograph must be recognizable as the person who is making
application for reciprocity.

2) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic identification card
which contains the applicant’s signature and date of birth. In the event of a name
change, Tegal proof of the change must be presented.

b. Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the applicant.
In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change must be presented

C. A current, valid out of state license. The license will be reviewed to
determine that all information contained in it including name, registration number,
social security number, etc., matches the information which was provide in the
affidavit.

d. Any applicant who uses or proposes to use an electric file in any manicuring
procedure must present an acceptable certification attesting to proper training in
the use of the instrument

3. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to be
Ticensed by reciprocity:

a. to determine that the applicant is at least 17 years of age.

b. To determine that the applicant is able to read, write and speak English.
III. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all

requirements for reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot
be accepted, and the reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of



the right to an Administrative Hearing before the Board.

IVv. If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements,
he or she 1is required to:

A. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form,
Application for Licensure by Reciprocity, must be completed in its entirety.

B. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established
by Law, Section 73-7-29, and may be submitted by personal check, cashier’s check,
money order, or cash.

602. FEE RECEIPTS:

Renewal Fees: School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew
his school Ticense within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new
application for Ticensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 201.Salon
License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon Ticense within one (1)
year from date of expiration must make a new application for licensure as prescribed
in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 701.A1T1 Licensees: The postmark date on the
transmittal envelope of the renewal application and fee is determinative in
ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the expiration of the grace
period.Application for renewal of Ticenses which are not accompanied by the provided
renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.when an applicant for new or
renewed license has not submitted required documentation or proper fee, applicant
will be notified of same by mail, and license processing is_placed on “hold” for_a
maximum of ninety (90) days, during which time no additional fees or charges will be
assessed. If however, a period of 90 days has passed without submittal of required
information or balance due, credited fees are forfeited; refunds cannot be granted.
II. Refunds of fees.

A. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to
withdraw the application, under the following conditions:

1. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason

2. The applicant has not been scheduled for examination

3. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance process
has not begun.

4. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not
occurred.

B. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written request

for a refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance
due, and the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee.

603. DUPLICATE LICENSE

I. For the benefit of Ticensees who may be employed in more than one location,
a request for a duplicate license may be made at the time of license renewal,
provided the proper fee is submitted.

II. In order to insure that a request for the issuance of a duplicate license,
which is made at any time other than at renewal, is indeed received from and for the
benefit of the Ticensee to whom it is entitled, such requests must be accompanied by
two forms of identification. Acceptable forms of identification may be: drivers
Tlicense, government issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with
photograph, voter registration card, U.S. Military card, Native American tribal
document, birth certificate, passport, certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate
of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary resident card or employment
authorization card.

IIT. when a new or renewed license has been issued and mailed by the Board, but
has not been received by the licensee, a duplicate Ticense may be issued, at no
charge to the licensee, under the following conditions:

A. The Ticense has not been returned to the Board office.
B. A correct mailing address was provided to the Board.
C The Board is notified of non-receipt of the license within four months of

the receipt date of the proper renewal fee, or in the case of a new license, within
four months of the actual Ticense issue date.

7. SALONS: APPROVAL OF
PROCEDURE FOR OPENING OF NEW SALON:An application for a license to operate a salon

must be submitted on a form prescribed and provided by the board, accompanied by
such evidence, statements or documents as therein required and filed with the board



at its office in Jackson, Mississippi.The following information is required on the
application:The name of the proposed salon.The address, Tocation and the phone
number of the proposed salon.The names and address of the proposed owners. If a
partnership or corporation, the name and addressed of all principals must be
provided.owner’s Social Security NumberIf the proposed owner is not a licensed
practitioner, the name and registration number of an individual Ticensed by this
board, who will manage salon.Any applicant for a salon license desiring to Timit the
practice to manicurin% or esthetics or wigology only, must so state on the
application, and any licensed issued to the establishment, authorizes only the
practice, as applied for.In addition to the above, the following information must be
submitted with the application:Required feeA 1ist of the equipment the salon
proposes to have on hand.An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant
within thirty (30) days after receipt by the board, with the cause of return.where
an application has been submitted and is not ready for inspection within 90 days
after receipt, the application will be canceled and the fee will be forfeited.II.
Inspection and Approval for Licensure:

If the application is found to be in order, the board will conduct an inspection of
the premises to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the Tlaw, including
minimum equipment requirements, have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the
proposed salon. If the requirements are not met, and the inspector cannot approve
the salon, there will be an additional fee for each inspection made before Ticensing
the salon.Temporary Verbal Permission: After receipt of application, and
verification of data, a proposed salon may receive temporary verbal permission to
operate pending final inspection and approval, however, if the physical inspection
reveals that any licensing requirements are deficient, final approval cannot be
recommended and the verbal permission will be immediately withdrawn.AppTlicant should
allow at least three working days after mailing salon application in order to insure
receipt of application in the board offices. After this period of time, applicant
may call the board office and request “Temporary Verbal Permission to operate.”In
order to receive temporary verbal permission, the salon should be ready for
operation by meeting all minimum equipment requirements as set forth in Rule 702
below.Temporary verbal permission does not constitute final approval of the salon,
which may only be grated by physical inspection as set forth above.

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT:A cosmetology salon must have the following minimum equipment in
order to be approved for licensure:oOutside sign.

one (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each practitioner

one (1) shampoo bowl and chair

one (1) dryer per two work stations. (For purposes of this rule, a dryer 1is defined
as “a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or portable.”)
Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per practitioner.

one (1) covered towel container for soiled towels.

Closed cabinet for clean towels.

one (1) wet sterilizer per practitioner.

One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)

Covered trash can.

Ssufficient equipment for giving complete beauty service.

Salons in which manicuring only is practice must have the following minimum
equipment:Outside si%n

Oone (1) manicure table with Tamp per manicurist.

One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.

one (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.

one (1) finger bowl per manicurist

one (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements. (Any clean, closed container is
considered adequate)

Closed cabinet for supplies.

Covered trash can.

sufficient equipment for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring services.

salons in which esthetics only 1is practiced must have the following minimum
equipment:outside sign

Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.

One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per
practitioner.

one (1) lavatory for each treatment area.

one (1) covered contained for soiled Tinens.

one (1) closed cabinet for clean lines.



one (1) closed cabinet for supplies

one (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) practitioners.

one (1) woods lamp per two (2) practitioners.

one (1) wet sterilizer per practitioner.

one (1) dry sterilizer.

Adequate supply of client drapes and 1ines (towels, sheets, and pillow covers.
Covered trash can.

sufficient equipment_for giving complete esthetics services.

Salons in which wigology only is practiced must have the following minimum
equipment:outside sign.

one (1) shampoo bowl or Tlavatory

Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes.

one (1) covered towel container for soiled towels.

one (1) closed cabinet for clean towels.

one (1) wet and dry sanitizer

One (1) dresser with mirror

Covered trash can

one (1) dryer

sufficient equipment for giving complete services for wigs.

A1l cosmetological establishment must have an outside entrance except salons 1in
department stores or buildings with a main entrance.In addition to the above rules,
a home establishment must meet the following criteria:The wall between the salon and
home must be of ceiling heightIf a door exists between the beauty salon and the
remainder of the house, said door must be kept closed during business hours.Bathroom
facilities must be separate from home facilitiesVII. A Ticensed establishment
must not be used for 1living purposes or other residential use.

SALON CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP; ADDITION OF PARTNERS; CHANGE OF LOCATION; CHANGE OF TRADE
NAMEChange of ownershipSalon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the
ownership of a salon must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or
transfer.where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must
make application for a new salon in accordance with Rules 701 - 702, and must pay
the required fee.Addition or Change of partnerswhere a partnership is added, or
changed, and at Teast one partner or original owner remains, then a new salon
application is not required.written notification of the change in partnership should
be made to the board within (30) days of such change.when the original applicant(s)
is no Tonger a partner in the salon, an Application of Approval of a New Salon must
be made in accordance with Rules 701 - 703, and the required fee must be paid.A
salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application for a new
salon in accordance with Rules 701 - 703, and must pay the required fee.A change of
location includes moving an existing establishment:1. From one address to another
From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a “change of
address” does not occur.An application for a new salon not required when:A portable
building is moved from one specific site on a Tot to another site on the same lot,
and there is no change in equipment.where an establishment has been destroyed by
fire or act of God, and is rebuilt in the same Tocation.

Change of Trade NameA salon will not change 1its trade name without having first
notified the board in writing of its intent to do so.

704, NURSING HOME SALONS
§73-7-35, MS. Code 1972, Ann., Amended, provides that cosmetological services may be
provided outside the physical confines of a Ticensed salon, to “...any person who

m%¥ be confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of
illness.”

I. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not
require a salon license under the following conditions:

A. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees
of the nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients.

B. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due to

illness 1is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a
retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board.

IT. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all
requirements of the Board, then it will be granted.

8. SANITATION



ENFORCEMENTThe holder or _holders of an establishment Ticense, or the person in
charge of any such establishment is liable for the 1mp1ementat1on and maintenance of
the sanitary conditions of the establishment.Any student, Ticensed practitioner, or
Ticensed instructor is held individually Tiable for the 1mp1ementation and
maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and equipment.

POSTING SANITARY RULESA copy of the Rules and Regulations governing sanitation must
be posted in a place conspicuous to the pubTic.

INTERIOREach establishment must be kept clean and in good repair. Fixtures,
including shampoo bowls, must be free from scale, rust, hair or product
buildup.Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a
non-porous material, readily cleanable. All solid waste and refuse must be kept 1in
containers with tight fitting Tids, so constructed that it may be thoroughly cleaned
and must be maintained in a clean condition. waste and refuse must be removed
from the premises as frequently as necessary to prevent a nuisance and
unsightliness.Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface
areas immediately after each client.Dogs (except for the blind), cats, birds, and
other pets are not permitted in an establishment.water SupplyEach establishment must
be provided with an adequate supply of potable running water, under pressure, from
an approved source. The potable water system must be installed to preclude the
possibility of backflow, with no cross connections through which the portable water
might become contaminated.Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be
provided in all work booths or work rooms.Adequate drinking water facilities must be
conveniently located in each establishment. Either individual paper cups or an
approved type slanting spray drinking fountain must be provided.All drinking
fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the stream of water from the
fountain_head must be properly regulated.The use of a common cup, glass or other
receptacle for drinking purposes is expressly prohibited.TOILET FACILITIESEvery
establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently located toilet
facilities.At Teast two toilet facilities must be provided in each school for the
students and patrons. At_least one toilet facility should be provided for employees
in other establishments.All toilet rooms must be kept clean and in good repair.All
toilet rooms must be well Tighted and ventilated to the outside air.Home salons must
have toilet facilities within the salon premises.All establishments Tocated on a
street or alley where a system of sanitary sewers is available must have a properly
constructed sewer connection to the sewer system into which human excreta and other
Tiquid waste is disposed. Wwhere no sanitary sewer system is available, all human
excreta and other 1iquid waste must be disposed of in a sewage disposal system
meeting all the requirements of the Mississippi State Department of Health and/or
the Mississippi Department of Natural Resources.Adequate and convenient hand-washing
facilities, including Tavatory, hot and cold running water under pressure, soap or
an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and individual towels must be provided in or
adjacent to every toilet room.waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be
kept in containers with tight fitting 1ids and must be removed from the premises as
frequently as necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness. All solid waste
and refuse must be disposed of in an approved manner.

PERSONAL SANITATIONI. Hand washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in a
establishment must thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial
skin cleanser before starting work, before each client, or after using the toilet.
In the service of manicuring, both the client and the Ticensed individual must wash
their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol prior to the
service.

Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial skin
cleanser.II. Infectious Disease

Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically
recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have with
clients, are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their
condition is no Tonger communicable under those circumstances.Likewise, clients who
have a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is transmittable to other
clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact the client would have with
the practitioner, or other clients, should not be accommodated in an establishment.
CHAIRS, SHAMPOO BOARDS AND BOWLSI. The head-rest chair must be provided with a
clean towel or paper sheet for each patron.

II. Shampoo boards and bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other



detergent after each shampoo, kept in good repair and in a sanitary condition at all
times.

LINENSOnTly freshly Tlaundered or new disposable 1linens can be used on each client.II.
After linens have once been used, they must be deposited in a closed receptacle,
and cannot be used again until properly Taundered and sanitized.
III. Used Tinens must be laundered either by regular commercial Taundering or by
a non-commercial 1aunder1ng process which includes the following treatment:
Immersion in water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time during the
wash or rinsing operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle
using detergent and bleach.
Iv. A1l clean towels are to be stored in a closed cabinet.
A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from
coming in direct contact with a patron.
807. BOTTLES AND CONTAINERS
Al1l bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly Tabeled to disclose
their contents. When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed. All
bottles containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a
separate cabinet away from cosmetics and other substances.There shall be no more
than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon at any one time.
Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet from cosmetics,
in accordance with manufacturer’s directions.
INSTRUMENTS AND SUPPLIESAT1 instruments and supplies which have been used in direct
contact upon a patron, or which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be
removed from work stands or utility trays, placed in a properly Tabeled receptacle
provided for the purpose, and cannot be used on another patron until they have been
properly clean and sanitized.ATl supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and
protectors which cannot be sanitized by one of the procedures covered by Rule 809
must be discarded immediately after use.Carrying instruments in or on garments or
uniforms is prohibited. No practitioner in an establishment may carry any
instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform.Use of brush-type neck dusters
is prohibited.Electric nail file:Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize a
power drill or electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board
approved certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.The
power drill/electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the
practitioner’s work station at all times.Any 1instructor teaching or planning to
teach the use of the power drill or electric file in any manicuring procedure must
first present Board approved certification that they are proficient in the use of
the instrument.The instructor’s power drill/electric file certification of
proficiency must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.Any
power drill or electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be
specifically designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the
instrument must be able to provide that documentation upon demand.
DISINFECTING WORK SURFACES, INSTRUMENTS, MATERIALS AND SUPPLIES:Work surfaces must
be cleaned with a detergent and disinfected after each client.All instruments,
materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except those which come
in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment:Thorough
cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and water or other
detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove
all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.Each establishment will have and
use for disinfection at all times during business hours, a wet Disinfectant
Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type recommended by the
manufacturer of the product it contains.The disinfectant used must be an EPA
registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.The
olution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s instructions for
dilution and immersion time.The container will be Targe enough for total immersion
of the open implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the
number of items to be disinfected.The container will have a cover in place at all
times, Tlabeled as to its contents, and be easily accessible to all
practitioners.Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as
not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and such), and
placed on a clean dry towel for air drying.Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but
are not acceptable as approved disinfecting devises. Glass bead sterilizers are not
an acceptable disinfectant.Storage of Disinfected Implements:Disinfected combs,
brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean, sanitized, closed



receptacle or cabinet when not in use. III. Body treatment, pedicure and
manicure equipment that holds water shall be cleaned after each client by scrubbing
with surfactant soap and water to remove all visible residue, then disinfected with
an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and virucidal disinfectant with surface
contact according to manufacturer’s directions

ATT tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids must
be disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 809.II., except that the
disinfectant must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is
mixed and used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be
gigcarded immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule
810. DISINFECTING ELECTRIC CLIPPERS AND METAL INSTRUMENTS

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 809 will
be disinfected by:

I. Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments with soap and
water or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so
as to remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.

IT. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70%
alcohol for not Tess than five minutes. Contact points of non-immersible equipment
will be wiped or sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal,
virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.

811. DISINFECTING MANICURE INSTRUMENTS WHILE IN USE ON A PATRON

A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure. The

instruments used on a individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when

not actually being employed during the process of giving a manicure.

After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments w1%1 be removed from the work

station and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures

?$t_gorth in Rule 810 or Rule 809 +if instruments come in contact with blood or body
uids.

812. CLEANING AND DISINFECTING WHIRLPOOL FOOTSPAS.

I. As used in this section, “whirlpool footspa” or “spa” is defined as any
basin using circulating water.

Hair Removal and waxing services may not be performed on the legs or feet before any

pedicure serviceIII. Each whirlpool footspa shall be cleaned and disinfected 1in
the following manner:

A. Before use upon each patron,

%. ) A1l water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa
asin.

2. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water.
3. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant with

demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity which must be used
according to manufacturer’s instructions.

4. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.
B. At the end of each day,
1. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be

removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a brush and surfactant
soap and water.
2. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be
performed

The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1 teaspoon of
5/ chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or
b. The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA- registered disinfectant with
demonstrated bactericidal, fung1c1da1 and virucidal activity which must be used
according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

3. The spa system shall be flushed with low sudsing soap and warm water for at
least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and drained.
C. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in

Section B. above, each whirlpool footspa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the
following manner:
1. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of 5%



bleach for each 1 gallon of water.

2. The spa system shall be flushed with the bleach and water solution for 5 to
10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours.

3. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a
patron.

D. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and

disinfecting as required by Sections B. And C., and will indicate whether the
cleaning was a daily or bi-weekly cleanin Th1s record shall be made at or near
the time of cleaning and disinfecting. %ean1ng and disinfecting records shall be
made available upon request by either a patron or a board representative.

E. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or
disciplinary action. Each footspa not in compliance with this section may result in
a separate violation.

813. BLOOD SPILL PROCEDURES
Practitioner injury. While risk expected with these practices is minimal,
practitioners are cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to
contacting blood or bodily fluids. If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood
spill injury, the client service must be immediately stopped, and the following
procedure employed:A .Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic
and/or Tiquid styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is
prohibited. Containers, brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to
touch the skin or contact the wound. An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of
gauze or cotton must be used.
Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.Put on properly sized disposable
plastic gloves.Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be
disposed of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another
plastic bag (double bagged) and discarded.
Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated implements as
provided in Rule 809.Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and
water. Follow with an antibacterial scrub on hands. Replace adhesive dressing or
band aid as needed. 1If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable
plastic glove on the injured hand.If necessary, clean client with soap and water.In
the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician.II.
Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client
service must be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:
A. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves.
B. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic_and/or liquid
styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited.
Containers, brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin
or contact the wound. An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton
must be used.
C. If necessary, Cover injury with_an adhesive dressing or band aid.
D. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed
of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag
(doub1e bagged) and discarded.

Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated
1mp1ements as provided in Rule 809.

F. Discard plastic gloves. wash and scrub hands with soap and water. Follow
with an antibacterial scrub _on hands. ) )

G. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private

physician.

814. HEALTH AND SAFETY ISSUES:

No instructor, or practitioner, will remove moles or other blemishes by radiation,
electronic, or other methods of tissue destruction.No practitioner or instructor
will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or scalp where such skin is
inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present.No product containing the
ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any manicuring or pedicuring
procedure. A1l products must be correctly labeled, and manufacturer’s data sheets
for any nail product must be readily available for review by any agent of the Board
of Cosmetology.Hair removal and waxing services may not be performed on the legs or
feet before any pedicure service.

815. CREAMS, LOTIONS, POWDER AND OTHER COSMETICS

A1l creams, 1otions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in clean and



closed containers.All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may
be applied by means of cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be
sanitized after each patron. Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately
after use. Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the
container with a sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for
removing creams, etc., is prohibited.IV. Lotions or fluids must be poured
into a sanitized glass or other container and must be applied to the patron by means
of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining after application can
neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another patron, but
must be discarded immediately.

V. Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of
cotton, gauze, pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material.

VI. wax:

Depilatory wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to the
wax heater. Applicators cannot be re-dipped.wax used for other than a depilatory
requires that:The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin
cleanser.The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion.wax
must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris.The product removed from
the body must be discarded.viI. Eyebrow pencils must be sharpened after
being used on a patron.

VIII. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used
in any manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly Tlabeled,
and manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for
review by any agent of the Board of Cosmetology.



