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Title 15 - Mississippi Department of Health 

Part IX – Office of Health Policy and Planning 

Subpart 91 – Planning & Resource Development 

 

Chapter 3 

112 Certificate of Need Processing Fee 

112.01 The amount of the fee to be assessed is determined by the following 
formula: 

CON Fee = 0.50 x 1% of proposed capital expenditure 

Should the capital expenditure in the CON application differ from that in 
the notice of intent, the applicant must adjust the fee payment to conform 
to the fee stated in the CON application, being certain to capitalize only 
those increments of the total expenditure proposed which are 
appropriate. 

Fee payment shall accompany the CON application and is payable to the 
Mississippi Department of Health by check, draft, or money order.  The 
minimum fee shall not be less than $1,000, and the maximum fee shall 
not exceed $25,000. 

When a CON application is received by the Department, the capital 
expenditure will be determined and the fee based on that amount.  If the 
applicant has submitted overpayment of the CON fee as determined by 
the Department, the amount of the overpayment will be refunded.  If 
partial payment of the CON fee has been submitted, the balance due 
must be received within 15 days' of receipt of partial payment due to the 
Department.  The assessed CON fee, once paid, shall be non-refundable. 

No application shall be deemed complete for the purpose of review until 
the required fee is received by the State Department of Health. 

No filing fee shall be required for: 

1. Any application submitted by an agency, department, institution, 
or facility which is operated, owned, and/or controlled by the State 
of Mississippi and which receives operating and/or capital 
expenditure funds solely by appropriations from the Legislature of 
the State; or 

2. Any application submitted by a health care facility for repairs or 
renovation determined by the Health Facilities Licensure and 
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Certification Division of the Department, in writing, to be 
necessary to avoid revocation of license and/or loss of certification 
for participation in the Medicaid and/or Medicare Programs.  Any 
proposed expenditure in excess of the amount determined by the 
Department to be necessary to accomplish the stated purpose shall 
be subject to fee requirements previously detailed. 
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Chapter 6 

103 Cost Overrun 

103.01 Changes in capital expenditure not associated with substantive 
construction or service changes require application for a cost overrun 
approval.  It is expected that each applicant will accurately and 
completely represent the cost associated with the project, so that when a 
CON is issued, a maximum capital expenditure is authorized. 

In those cases where the expenditure maximum established by the 
Certificate of Need is exceeded, the applicant is required to request cost 
overrun approval.  The following procedures shall apply to cost overrun 
applications. 

1. The request for cost overrun shall be made in accordance with the 
cost overrun format. 

a. For construction projects, a revised estimate signed by an 
architect licensed to practice in Mississippi or a contractor 
authorized by law to do business in Mississippi shall 
accompany the request for cost overrun.  The request shall 
include a description of the method used to determine the 
revised cost estimate and the justification for each line item in 
the budget for which a cost overrun is requested.  In addition 
to the above, a revised capital expenditure budget outlining all 
costs associated with the project and a copy of any bid 
quotations will be submitted. 

b. In cost overrun requests for purchase of capital equipment, an 
official price quotation from the vendor or the manufacturer is 
required. 

c. Cost overrun requests for construction projects shall be 
compared with national construction cost data as published in 
the latest edition of Building Construction Cost Data, Robert 
S. Means Co., Inc., Kingston, Massachusetts, or other bona 
fide reference. 

Any cost overrun on a construction or a renovation project 
which locates cost in or above the upper one-fourth range for 
construction or renovation cost in the U.S. shall require 
additional documentation to explain the reasons. 

d. Cost overrun requests which result in part or in whole from the 
requirement of the licensure and certification authority of the 
State shall be given special consideration.  Appropriate 
documentation from the licensing and/or certification 
authority shall be submitted with the request. 
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e. The amount of the fee to be assessed on cost overruns will be 
calculated at 0.50 x 1% of the additional capital expenditure or 
$1,000, whichever is greater. 

However, if the original capital expenditure required the 
maximum fee of $25,000 and the cost overrun does not 
contain a substantial change in construction, renovation, 
addition of services or purchase of equipment, the minimum 
fee of $1,000 will be required. 

2. For any proposal in which the estimated or actual cost exceeds the 
amount originally approved, a review by the State Health Officer 
shall be required. 


