
Department 4 – Livestock 
 

Livestock Director……………………………………………………………………………………Greg Young 
 
 

RULES AND REGULATIONS 
1. Making Entries.  All prospective exhibitors, where known, will receive show catalogs.  A copy of the 

entry blank will be mailed with each catalog for use by exhibitors.  Additional blanks required may be 
had upon request from the Extension Animal Science Department at Mississippi State University. 

 
2.  Release of Exhibits.  Exhibits will be released according to the schedule of events. 
 
3. Application for Entry.  All applicants for entries must be made out on the printed form and in 

accordance with instructions on same.  This form, after being signed by the exhibitor, is to be filed in 
the office of the Manager of the Fair. 

 
4. Time of Entries.  Entries for open shows must be in the office of the Secretary not later than 

September 30, 2005 or as stated in each division.  Entries in the mail after that date, where the 
postmark shows a date not later than September 30, 2005 will be accepted.  EXHIBITORS ARE 
URGED TO MAKE THEIR ENTRIES AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE. 

 
5. Entry Fees.  Charges are made for stalls and pens used by adult exhibitors.  No entry fees are 

charged for Junior exhibitors, except when competing in Adult Classes. 
 
 Hogs……………………………………………………………………………………………. $5.00 per head 
 Dairy……………………………………………………………………………………………..$8.00 per head 
 Dairy Goats……………………………………………………………………………………..$5.00 per head 
 Meat Goats……………………………………………………………………………………..$5.00 per head 
 
6. Tickets:   

4-H Agents, FFA Advisors and Leaders, a maximum of 10 weekend passes (good for parking also) 
free of charge if ordered prior to Fair. 

 All tickets picked up at the fair must be paid for. 
 
 Livestock Exhibitors – (Adult) 
 Weekend Pass (good for parking also)………………………………………………………………..$10.00 
  

Livestock Exhibitors – (Junior & Family)…………………………………………………………………Free 
(must request pass) 

 
Campers: 
There will be a charge of $150 for camper parking throughout dates of Fair and $15 a day for any 
additional days. 

 
7. Refunds.  No stalls or pens will be reserved without the required fee.  Any cancellations or changes 

in entries must be made not later than five days before the opening date of the show as no refunds 
will be made after the date. 

 
8. Livestock Trucks.  Enter Gate 14 (Livestock Entrance) in front of the Armory on Mississippi Street.  

When livestock are unloaded, the truck shall be moved to the truck parking area. 
 
 

EXHIBITORS MUST HAVE REGISTRATION 
CERTIFICATES AVAILABLE WITH THEIR 

EXHIBITS AT ALL TIMES DURING THE SHOW 
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9. Firms and Partnerships.  Firms and Partnerships entering animals for competition must be in 

existence at the time of making entry, and in all cases must be bonafide, and affidavits of the age of 
the firm may be required by the Management.  In all cases, a firm or a partnership is considered an 
exhibitor.  This does not apply to Junior owned animals, whereby members of the same family are 
partners. 

 
10. Groups of Animals.  Animals to compose a competitive group need not be named in the application 

for entry, but exhibitors must indicate on separate entry blanks each group class in which they 
expect to compete, and the number of groups to be entered in each class so full information may be 
shown in the Official Catalog. 

 
11. Eligibility of Animals.  All animals in the breeding classes must be recorded or accepted for record 

in the recognized books of certificates of registry at the request of the Superintendent in charge any 
time during the Fair.  The exhibitor must give, on his application for entry, the breed, date of birth, 
registration number and name under which animal is registered on the record association, and the 
sire and dam of each animal entered; otherwise entry will not be accepted.  This rule does not apply 
to animals entered in the market classes, i.e. steers, wethers, and barrows.  In these classes, age or 
weight, sex, name and breed of the animals are required on the entry application. 

 
12. Stall Reservations.  Insofar as possible, shelter will be provided for breeding stock brought in for 

exhibition.  Space will be reserved in accordance with exhibitor’s indication on the entry blank and in 
the order in which the entries are received in the State Fair Office. 

 
13. Cattle shall not be tied out of barns before 5:00 p.m. 
 
14. Erroneous Entry.  Exhibits that have been erroneously entered may be transferred to their proper 

class, previous to judging, upon application to the Superintendent, who will determine the matter 
upon its merits.  If such classes have been judged, however, they shall not be reopened. 

 
15. Substitutions.  No person having entered anything for competition will be allowed to make 

substitutions of animals or otherwise change the entry after ten days prior to the opening day of the 
show, except as noted in the preceding rule or except in case of death of the animal entered. 

 
16. Veterinarians.  Name and telephone number of qualified local veterinarians will be posted in each 

barn.  Each exhibitor needing the services of a veterinarian is requested to call the one of his choice, 
and be responsible for such call. 

 
17. Diseased Animals Barred.  Special care will be taken that no animals having a disease of any 

character will be admitted on to the show grounds at any time, and the Mississippi Fair Commission 
Livestock Director is instructed and authorized to refuse unloading privileges to any stock having a 
disease or undesirable ailments. 

 
18. Care of animals.  All owners of property or livestock, or others having same in charge, shall care for, 

guard, protect, and preserve the same, as the Mississippi State Fair does not undertake to do so, 
and it shall not be held responsible for any loss or damage to said property or the owners thereof. 

 
19. Care of Stalls, Pens & Aisles.  All stalls, pens and exhibition places must be cleaned before 9:00 

a.m. each day, and refuse matter disposed of as the Livestock Director may direct.  It is the 
exhibitor’s responsibility to keep the aisles behind his animals clean. 

 
20. Positively no smoking will be permitted in the show barns or arena. 
 
21. Uses of Blankets.  Exhibitors are requested to leave blankets and covers off their stock after 

judging day.  If weather conditions necessitate the use of blankets on livestock, permission must be 
obtained from the Livestock Director to leave blankets on livestock. 
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22. Showing the Adjudication.  All exhibitors must bring into the area for adjudication any animal or 

animals properly entered in any show class and passed upon by the Sifting Committee as eligible for 
competition, unless the reason for their nonappearance in the ring is acceptable to the 
Superintendent in charge.  All single breeding cattle and steers for exhibition must be shown with 
halter. 

 
23. Signs.  Livestock exhibitors are permitted to display appropriate signs over each exhibit advertising 

their own herd.  All other forms of signs or advertising must be approved by the Management, and it 
reserves the right to have objectionable signs removed.  Commercial signs (such as feeds, minerals, 
stock medicines, etc) will not be permitted anywhere in connection with livestock exhibits unless 
approved by Fair Management. 

 
24. Objectionable Exhibits.  The Management reserves the right to remove from the grounds any 

exhibit, animal, stand or show that may be falsely entered, or may be deemed unsuitable or 
objectionable, without assigning a reason therefore, and, if necessary, to return any money already 
paid for space or stalls which will exonerate the Fair from any claim whatsoever on the part of the 
exhibitor or purchaser. 

 
25. Protests.  All protests must be made on official protest form available at the livestock manager’s 

show office.  Protests must be made and signed by the person(s) protesting.  The protest must 
designate the exhibitor and animal involved and the specific rule or regulation that the exhibitor 
and/or animal is violating.  Protests not requiring carcass inspections and/or laboratory tests must be 
accompanied by a $25.00 cash deposit (which will be forfeited, if protest is not sustained) and 
submitted to the show manager before official placings of the class involved are announced.  
Protests concerning unethical procedures, the basis of which requires inspection of hide, carcasses, 
and/or laboratory tests be accompanied by a $200.00 cash deposit (which will be forfeited if protest 
is not sustained) and submitted to the show manager within one (1) hour after the end of the show 
involved. 

 
26. Accepted Entries.  In all cases, the Management reserves the right to reject to accept any entry, 

and does not guarantee space in the show barns to any entry, as it is intended that only such 
animals shall be entered and shown as having merit, and will be a credit to both the exhibitor and the 
Fair. 

 
27. Selection of Judges.  The single judge system is the policy of this Fair, and, in every case, the 

judge is selected with the utmost care. 
 
28. Time of Judging.  The time during which the judges will pass upon the different classes will be 

announced, as early as possible, in the Catalog, which may be obtained at the Livestock Office upon 
arrival at the show.  Exhibitors should ascertain at which time the exhibits entered will be judged.  
Any exhibit not presented promptly on scheduled time will be ruled out and barred from competition 
in the class called.  No complaint or protest will be heard on the ground that the judging Program as 
published in this Premium List will be followed as closely as possible. 

 
29. Method of Awarding.  No animal will be awarded a prize unless removed from its stall or pen and 

exhibited before the judge in the show ring. 
 
30. Ribbon Awards.  The color of ribbon-designated awards are as follows:  Blue, first; Red, second; 

White, third; Pink, fourth; Yellow, fifth; Dark Green, sixth; Light Green, seventh; Royal Purple, 
champion; Lavender, reserved champion. 

 
31. Decision of Judges Final.  The decision of the Judges will be final in all cases, except where 

mistakes, fraud, misrepresentation or collusion, not discovered at the time of the award, is proven.  
In such cases the General Co-Manager, or such referee as he may appoint, may make a decision, or 
the case may be referred to the Rules Committee from whose decision there can be no appeal. 
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32. Objections to Judges.  Objections to a person serving as judge must be submitted to the Fair 

Management in writing prior to making any awards, giving good and sufficient reason and therefore, 
upon which the Management will have full power to act. 

 
33. Interference with Judges.  If any exhibitor, in any way, whether in person or by agent or servant, 

interferes with the judges during their adjudication, or shows any disrespect to them or to the show, 
the management may demand a proper apology from such Exhibitor, or it may exclude him from 
competition and from the ring, and may also withhold from such exhibitor premiums that may have 
been awarded. 

 
34. Animals Disqualified.  Should any animal awarded a prize be disqualified, the animals gaining the 

lower prize shall graduate up to the next higher positions, if, in the opinion of the judges, the animals 
are worthy of such prizes. 

 
35. Interpretation and Violation of Rules.  The Fair reserves to itself the final and absolute right to 

interpret these rules and regulations and arbitrarily settle and determine all matters, questions and 
differences in regard thereto, or otherwise arising out of, or connected with, or incident to, the Fair, 
and the right to amend or add to these rules as its judgment may determine.  An exhibitor who 
violates any of these rules will forfeit all privileges and premiums and be subject to such penalty as 
the Fair may order. 

 
36. Liability.  All exhibits will be under the control and direction of the Fair Management, but the Fair will 

in no case be responsible for any loss, injury or damage that may occur.  Each exhibitor will be solely 
responsible for any loss, injury or damage done to, or occasioned by, or arising from any animal or 
article exhibited by him and for its description as given in the catalog.  He shall indemnify the Fair 
against all legal or other proceedings in regard thereto, as well as damage or injury to any other 
person or property, caused by the exhibitor or any of the animals exhibited by him, or arising out of, 
or in anyway connected with such exhibition or any of the animals so exhibited. 

 
 

 4



MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH 
Health Requirements Governing 
Admission of Livestock for the 

Mississippi State Fair 
 
 
 

SECTION I – MARKET ANIMALS 
 
An Official Health Certificate shall accompany all market animals with each animal individually identified 
and be apparently free of any contagious, infectious or communicable disease. 
 
 
SECTION II – CATTLE 
 
A. Cattle originating from Mississippi will require an Official Health Certificate only.  These cattle are 

exempt from Brucellosis and Tuberculosis tests. 
 
B. Brucellosis 

All cattle shall be accompanied by an Official Health Certificate and be apparently free of any 
contagious, infectious or communicable disease.  Cattle from certified free states are exempt from 
Brucellosis test.  All cattle, except nursing calves, must be individually identified on the Health 
Certificate.  No entry permit required. 

 
Class A States: 
Cattle from Class A states must have a 30 day negative Brucellosis Test performed by an accredited 
laboratory.  Bulls 18 months of age and under are exempt from the test.  Females under 8 months of 
age not vaccinated are exempt from test.  Beef cattle officially vaccinated under 24 months and dairy 
cattle vaccinated under 20 months and not parturient are exempt from test. 
 

C. Tuberculosis:  All cattle all ages shall: 
 1.  Originate from accredited Free State or: 

2.  Originate from accredited, tuberculosis free Herd, certificate number of the herd and date certified 
shall be entered on the Health Certificate. 

3.  Or, have been negative to a test made within sixty (60) days prior to the date of shipment, and in 
addition from a non-quarantine herd in a modified accredited tuberculosis free area. 

 
 

SECTION III – HORSES 
 
All horses shall be accompanied by: 
1.  Official interstate health certificate stating horse apparently free of any contagious, infectious, or 

communicable disease. 
2.  Original laboratory chart of negative Equine Infectious Anemia (Coggins) Test made within twelve (12) 

months with proper animal identification listed thereon.  Photocopies WILL NOT be accepted. 
 
 
SECTION IV – SWINE 
All swine in state shall be accompanied by an official health certificate.  All swine must be individually 
identified on the health certificate.  Swine must originate from herds that have not had an infectious or 
communicable disease within the past 90 days prior to movement, and this statement must be written on 
the health certificate.   
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SECTION V – GOATS 
All goats shall be accompanied by an official health certificate and shall comply with the following: 
A.  Originate from herds that are not quarantined for any contagious or communicable disease. 
B.  Free of scabies, lice and foot rot. 
 
 
 
ALL OFFICIAL HEALTH CERTIFICATIONS FOR SHOW ANIMALS ARE VALID FOR SIXTY (60) 
DAYS. 
 
These regulations issued in compliance and cooperation with the Mississippi Fair Commission for the 
prevention of contagious disease. 
 

Dr. James Watson, State Veterinarian 
P.O. Box 3889 

Jackson, MS  39207 
Telephone:  (601) 359-1170 
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Herdsmen Awards 
 

Special prizes will be awarded in the cattle department to the herdsmen or caretakers in charge of 
livestock exhibits.  A committee appointed by the Management will make inspections during the week to 
determine those who, in their judgment, make the best record for the period of the show, taking into 
consideration the following points: 
 
1. Orderliness and cleanliness of quarters, stalls, and animals. 
 
2. Promptness in having stalls or pens cleaned by 9:00 a.m. each day. 
 
3. Systematic and neat arrangements of feed and forage, and keeping same in the service alleys. 
 
4. Personal appearance of herdsmen and helpers. 
 
5. Observance of all rules and regulations of this Fair pertaining to attractiveness of exhibits. 
 
6. Cooperation in general with the Management and the Livestock Superintendents in promoting the 

Livestock Show to the best advantage of everyone concerned. 
 
 
Mississippi State Fair will pay premiums listed below in the Junior Beef Division, Junior Dairy Division, 
and Open Dairy Division to the respective exhibitor keeping the cleanest aisle and most attractive display.  
In order to qualify for this award, an individual, county group, 4-H club, or FFA chapter must have at least 
six animals or more. 
 
 

1st   2nd   3rd 
  $100.00        $75.00       $50.00 
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DIVISION I – DAIRY CATTLE 
 
 

SHOW MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE  
 

Livestock Director 
Mississippi Fair Commission…………………………………………………………………………..Greg Young 
General Co-Manager………………………………………………………………………..Gale Chrestman (4-H) 
General Co-Manager…………………………………………………………………………….Amy Green (FFA) 
Superintendent………………………………………………………………………………………Wesley Farmer 
Assistant Superintendent……………………………………………………………………..……….Mark Mowdy 
 
 

Judging Open Dairy Show 
9:00 a.m., Friday, October 14 

Special Dairy Classes 
7:00 p.m., Friday, October 14 
Judging Junior Dairy Show 

8:30 a.m., Saturday, October 15 
 
1. Entries – All dairy entries are to be made at county offices and received by the Animal & Dairy 

Sciences Dept., Box 9815, Mississippi State, MS  39762, no later than Sept. 15, 2005.  Out-of-state 
entries are to be mailed directly to the Animal & Dairy Sciences Dept. 

 
2. Competition – The Open Show is open to registered dairy females of the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, 

Guernsey, Jersey, and Holstein breed.  Exhibitors outside Mississippi may enter and show.  The 
Junior Show is restricted to youth in Mississippi who are 8 through 18 years of age, as of December 
31, 2004. 

 
3. Entry Fees – An entry or stall fee of $8.00 per head will be charged for all entries in the Open Show 

and must accompany applications for entry. 
 
4. Juniors may enter animals in the Open Show by paying the entry fee.  Open Show must be indicated 

on the computer entry program in addition to the Junior Show.  (No entry fee is required for the 
Junior Show). 

 
5. All dairy animals must be in place by 12:00 noon, Thursday, October 13 and remain until 4:00 p.m. 

or at the completion of the Junior Show (whichever is earlier), Saturday, October 15. Exceptions:  
Animals to be exhibited in the Open Show only, may elect to have animals in the barn by 4:00 p.m. 
Wednesday, October 12 and remain until 8:00 p.m. Friday, October 14. 

 
6. Each animal must be accompanied by actual Registration Certificate.  Animals with pending 

registration will not be allowed to show.  Certificate must be presented to entry clerk in dairy office on 
arrival for checking and identification. 

 
7. An exhibitor may not show more than two entries in a regular class. 
 
8. All animals must meet State health requirements as outlined elsewhere in this catalog. 
 
9. Exhibitors will furnish feed, feed and water containers, and such equipment as is needed to keep 

exhibit space neat and orderly.  No bedding will be allowed, as sand stalls will be provided. 
 
10. Animals seriously lacking in fitting and training will not be allowed to compete for premiums or to 

occupy space on grounds. 
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11. It is the exhibitors’ responsibility to know when their animals will be judged, and they must be in the 
arena promptly when classes are called. 

 
12. Exhibitors will be required to remove animals that calve while on grounds from the exhibition barns to 

the maternity stalls provided by the Fair Management.  These animals will then be returned to 
regular tie stalls after they have been properly cleaned. 

 
13. Judging in the Open Show will be by the American System. 
 
14. There will be separate breed classes and championships.  No Junior, Senior or Grand championship 

will be awarded unless there is competition between classes. 
 

15. Entries in the Junior Show will be allowed to compete in the Open Show in the following classes 
without paying an entry fee:  Best Three Females, Futurities, Governor’s Production, up to 2 cows 
in a Dairy Herd, and Best Fitted Animal. 

 
 
 

SPECIAL PRIZES FOR HERDSMEN 
 

For qualification of awards, see “Special Prizes for Herdsmen” under Livestock – Department F, General 
Rules and Regulations. 
 
 
 

OPEN DAIRY HERDSMEN AWARD 
 

    1st       2nd    3rd 
$100.00  $75.00  $50.00
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OPEN DAIRY SHOW 
 

Judging………………………………………………………………………….Friday, October 14, 9:00 a.m. 
 

PREMIUMS WILL BE ADJUSTED ACCORDING 
TO THE NUMBER OF CATTLE SHOWN 

Holsteins – Jerseys 
Class 
1. Spring Heifer Calf – March 1, 2005 to May 31, 2005 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15 $10 $5 $5 
 
2. Winter Heifer Calf – December 1, 2004 to February 28, 2005 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15 $10 $5 $5 
 
3. Fall Heifer Calf – September 1, 2004 to November 30, 2004 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15 $10 $5 $5 
 
4. Summer Yearling Heifer – June 1, 2004 to August 31, 2004 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th-15th       16th-20th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15     $10  $5 
 
5. Spring Yearling Heifer – March 1, 2004 to May 31, 2004 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th-15th       16th-20th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15     $10  $5 
 
6. Winter Yearling Heifer – December 1, 2003 to February 28, 2004 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th-15th       16th-20th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15     $10  $5 
 
7. Fall Yearling Heifer – September 1, 2003 to November 30, 2003 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th-15th       16th-20th 
 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 $20 $15     $10  $5 
 
8. Junior Champion – Rosette (highest rated animal in Classes 1-7) 
 
9. Reserve Junior Champion – Rosette (second highest rated animal in Classes 1-7) 
 
10. Two Year Old Holstein Futurity – 1:00 p.m. 
 
11. Two Year Old Jersey Futurity – 1:30 p.m. 
 
12. Junior, 2 Years Old – March 1 – August 31, 2003 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 
 
13. Senior, 2 Years Old – September 1, 2002 – February 28, 2003 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 
 
14. Cows, 3 Years Old – September 1, 2001 – August 31, 2002 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 
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15. Cows, 4 Years Old – September 1, 2000 – August 31, 2001 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 
 
16. Cows, 5 Years Old & Over – born prior to September 1, 2000 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 $25 $20 
 
17. Senior Champion – Rosette (highest rated animal in Classes 12-17) 
 
18. Reserve Senior Champion – Rosette (second highest rated animal in Classes 12-17) 
 
19. Grand Champion – Banner and $50 (highest rated animal in Classes 8 & 17) 
 
20. Reserve Grand Champion – Banner and $25 (second highest rated animal in Classes 8, 9, 17, 18) 
 
21. Best Three Animals Bred & Owned by Exhibitor – all breeds compete in same class 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th  
 $75 $70 $65 $60 $55 $50 $45 $40 $35 $30 
 
22. Dairy Herd – To consist of four cows that have freshened – all by one farm with at least two animals 

owned by adult exhibitors.  Limited one entry per family.  All breeds will compete in the same class. 
 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th   
 $90 $80 $70 $60 $45 $40 $30 $20  
 
23. Best Fitted Animal.  Trophy courtesy of American Dairy Association.  All breeds eligible. 
 
24. Best Udder Cow – Competition among best udder in each cow class.  Trophy courtesy of ABS 

Global. 
 

AYRSHIRES – GUERNSEYS – BROWN SWISS 
 

Same classes as above except 12 and 13, with premiums for only 1st, 2nd, 3rd.  2 Year Old class 
will encompass 12 and 13.  Premiums may be adjusted in colored breeds according to the number of 
cattle shown and classes 15 and 16 will be combined. 

 
Mississippi Two Year Old Jersey and 

Holstein Futurity Classes 
 

The Two-Year old Jersey and Holstein Futurity Classes are sponsored by the Mississippi Jersey 
Cattle Club, the Mississippi Holstein Fresian Association and the Mississippi State Fair.  The governing 
body is the Futurity Committee of each breed, two of which are the President of the breed association and 
the Extension Specialist.  The purse for each Futurity shall consist of all monies received by the Futurity, 
plus an equal amount not to exceed $500 from the Fair.  Premiums will be allocated as follows: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  9th  10th
20%  15%  10%  7.5% 6%  5%  4%  4%  3%   3% 
 
11th  12th  13th  14th  15th  16th  17th  18th  19th  20th
2.5% 2.5% 2.5% 2.5% 2.5%  2%   2%   2%   2%   2% 

 
If less than twenty animals are shown, the portion of purse unclaimed will be divided equally among 

those showing. 
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Special Dairy Classes 
Friday, October 14, 7:00 p.m. 

 
 
Order of Show:  (1)  Governor’s Production Class 
     (2)  Pretty Cow Contest 
 

Governor’s Production Class:  Mississippi Cows Only Judging:  To be based on production record only, 
computed to standard 2x, 305 day mature equivalent record then converted to energy corrected milk 
basis.  Production record must have been started and completed in Mississippi.  Each farm can enter only 
one cow in this class.  Only DHIA or DHIR Records are acceptable.  A cow cannot be entered with the 
same record as previous years.  Production records must be presented to the Superintendent of the 
Senior Dairy Show by 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 13 to be eligible. 
 
 
 1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th 

$100 $90  $80  $70  $60  $50  $40  $30 
 
9th  10th  11th  12th  13th  14th  15th 
$25  $20  $18  $16  $14  $12  $10 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SPECIAL AWARDS 
 
 

Mississippi Ayrshire Endowment will award an attractively 
engraved trophy to the Grand Champion Ayrshire. 

 
 

First South Farm Credit will award an attractively engraved 
trophy to the Grand Champion Brown Swiss. 

 
 

Monsanto – Dairy Division will award an attractively 
engraved trophy to the Grand Champion Guernsey. 

 
 

Holstein-Friesian Association of Mississippi will award an 
attractively engraved trophy to the Grand Champion Holstein. 

 
 

Mississippi Jersey Cattle Club will award an attractively 
engraved trophy to the Grand Champion Jersey. 
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 Open Swine 
Market Hog Show 

 
 
Superintendent…………………………….……………………………………………....………..Mark Crenshaw 
Assistant Superintendent……………………………………………………………………………….Mike Howell 
Judging……………………………………………………………...……..10:00 a.m. Monday, October 10, 2005 
 
 
Show Committee: 

Mark Crenshaw 
Mike Howell 
Ricky Ferguson 
Terry Patterson 

 
 
 

RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 
 

1. Entries close September 30, 2005 and must be mailed not later than this date. 
2. The show is open to exhibitors residing in Mississippi. 
3. Competition will be open to purebred and crossbred hogs, including barrows and gilts. 
4. An entry fee of $5.00 per head must be paid at time of entry. 
5. TICKETS:  (See Rule 6.  Department 4 – Livestock) 
6. All exhibits must comply with general rules and regulations of the livestock departments. 
7. All animals must meet State Health Requirements as outlined in this catalog. 
8. All animals must be free of disease. 
9. Hogs cannot enter fairgrounds until 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, October 9, 2005 and must be in place no 

later than 12:00 Noon, Sunday, October 9, 2005.  Release all hogs Monday, October 10, 2005 at 
4:00 p.m. 

10. All hogs entered in the show will be weighed between the hours of 1:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. on 
Sunday, October 9, 2005 and divided into three equal weight classes. 

11. Only hogs weighing from 200 to 270 pounds can enter the show.  A three-pound leeway will be 
allowed at the minimum and maximum weight in making classes. 

12. Each exhibitor is limited to two entries in each class. 
13. No animal is eligible to compete in more than one class. 
14. In the event an exhibitor has no competition in a class, second money may be awarded. 
15. All hogs must have been owned and fed by exhibitor at least 45 days prior to the show.  
16. The exhibitor will be responsible for bedding, feeding, and watering his hogs throughout the show. 
17. Hogs must be presented in a clean and respectable show condition. 
18. Show management strongly discourages clipping of pigs on the fairgrounds. 
19. The Management will not be responsible for losses, injuries or mishaps that may befall animals, 

exhibitors, or spectators. 
20. Submitting entries.  Forms for reporting entries will be furnished by the show management.  Send 

entries to Mark Crenshaw, Box 9815, Mississippi State, Mississippi 39762 or Mississippi State Fair, 
Box 892, Jackson, Mississippi 39205.  
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OPEN MARKET HOG SHOW 
 

Class 
1. Lightweights 
 

1st    2nd    3rd    4th    5th  +10
$16   $15    $14   $14    $12    $10

 
 
 
 
2. Medium weights 
 

1st    2nd    3rd    4th    5th  +10
$16   $15    $14   $14    $12    $10

 
 
 
 
3. Heavy weights 
 

1st    2nd    3rd    4th    5th  +10
$16   $15    $14   $14    $12    $10

 
 
 
 
4. Champion – Banner, $300.00 
 
5. Reserve Champion – Banner, $200.00 
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