A Proclamation By Governor Ronnie Musgrove

WHEREAS, The Mississippi Film Commission Office was created on January 17, 1973, by Governor Bill Waller; and

WHEREAS, The work of the Mississippi Film Office across the state and around the world has created jobs and opportunity, enhanced tourism and community, and provided public relations impact and global awareness; and

WHEREAS, Beginning with THIEVES LIKE US in 1973, more than 40 films, 26 television movies, 21 documentaries, two television series, more than two dozen episodes of television programs, countless short films, and hundreds of commercials and music videos have been filmed in Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi film and television production have presented to the world the work of such Mississippians as Larry Brown, William Faulkner, John Grisham, Beth Henley, Willie Morris, Thomas Hal Phillips, Eudora Welty, Tennessee Williams; and

WHEREAS, Films produced in Mississippi have highlighted contributions of such notable Mississippians as Bobby DeLaughter, Medgar Evers, Dr. James Hardy, Robert Johnson, James Meredith, and Elvis Presley, and documented our contributions to the fields of music, science, civil rights, literature, science, history, and medicine; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi locations from Pascagoula to Walls, from Vicksburg to Meridian, from Jacinto to Woodville have been used in movies, television, commercials, and documentaries in the last 30 years; and

WHEREAS, Film production in Mississippi has accounted for more than \$100 million in direct expenditure since the creation of the film office, and it has generated hundreds of thousands of paychecks for Mississippians, including 10,000 during the production of A TIME TO KILL alone; and

WHEREAS, On location film production has brought to Mississippi such celebrities as Muhammad Ali, Alec Baldwin, Sandra Bullock, Karen Black, Montgomery Clift, George Clooney, Glenn Close, Russell Crowe, Faye Dunaway, Charles Dutton, Robert Duvall, Morgan Freeman, Whoopi Goldberg, Gene Hackman, William Holden, Samuel L. Jackson, Frances McDormand, Gerald McRaney, Steve McQueen, Robert Mitchum, Julianne Moore, Patricia Neal, Al Pacino, Robert Redford, Jason Robards, Donald Sutherland, Elizabeth Taylor, Cicely Tyson, Denzel Washington, John Wayne, Debra Winger, Natalie Wood, and James Woods; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi productions have been directed by some of the world's greatest directors, among them Robert Altman, The Coen Brothers, Charles Burnett, Fielder Cook, John Ford, Milos Forman, Walter Hill, Jim Jarmusch, Elia Kazan, Spike Lee, Michael Mann, Vincente Minelli, Alan Parker, Sydney Pollack, Rob Reiner, Mark Rydell, Joel Schumacher, and Wim Wenders:

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ronnie Musgrove, Governor of the State of Mississippi, hereby proclaim January 13-17, 2003, as

MISSISSIPPI FILM WEEK

in the State of Mississippi.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi to be affixed.

Done in the City of Jackson, January 13, 2003, in the two hundred and twenty-sixth year of the United States of America.

RONNIE MUSGROVE GOVERNOR