AGENDA

- 1. Introductions
- 2. Background of Initiative
- 3. Overview of Project
- 4. Lead Group
- 5. Committee Assignments & Committee Chairmen
- 6. Orientation Meeting Date

Steering Committee

- 1. Claiborne Barksdale, Barksdale Reading Institute
- 2. Dr. Cathy Grace, The Early Childhood Institute
- 3. Kelly Riley, Office of the Governor
- 4. Carol Burnett, MS Low Income Child Care Initiative
- 5. Oleta Fitzgerald, Children's Defense Fund
- 6. Arvern Moore, Head Start
- 7. Edna Watts, Department of Human Services
- 8. Vickey Maddox, Department of Health
- 9. Dr. Bonita Coleman-Potter, Department of Education

Suggestions for Lead Group:

- 1. Nadine Coleman, Petal Parenting Center
- 2. Louise Davis, MS Cooperative Extension Service (Higher education)
- 3. Christine Seals, Greenville Higher Education Center for MS Valley State of Mississippi (federal funds knowledge)
- 4. Reginald Henderson (federal funds knowledge)
- 5. Pam Motley, Jones Junior College
- 6. Josephine Rhymes, Coahoma Community College
- 7. Dr. Mary Ann Jacobs, Hinds Community College
- 8. Dawn Hall, MS Forum on Children and Families
- 9. MS Early Childhood Association
- 10. Helen Taylor, Starkville (VOICES provider)
- 11. Senator Gray Tollison
- 12. Representative May Whittington
- 13. Senator Ron Farris
- 14. Judy Rhodes, MDE (finance policy)
- 15. Danny Bender, Department of Health (policy)
- 16. Roy Hart, First Steps (special needs)
- 17. Connie Clay (IDS at USM)
- 18. Melissa Lewis (native American)
- 19. Sister Maureen Delaney, Tutwiler Clinic
- 20. Howard Walters, MS Gulf Coast Research Lab and Chairman of Health Dpt's Child Care Licensing Committee
- 21. Dewey Herring, NASA Education Office
- 22. Robin Robinson, Sanderson Farms (corporate child care)
- 23. Tom Wacaster, Phil Hardin Foundation
- 24. Monnie Vale from North Mississippi Medical Center in Tupelo
- 25. Lee Frierson, Head Start practitioner
- 26. Cliff Whitley, Head Start practitioner
- 27. Bille Morrison, Head Start practitioner
- 28. John Hale (Marion County), Head Start practitioner
- 29. Jim Lott, MS Development Authority, Workforce Investment
- 30. Vera Butler, DHS, TANF Policy
- 31. Ed Sivak, Enterprise Corporation of the Delta

- 32. Delores Sewell, Jackson (provider)
- 33. Delores McWright, Leland (provider)
- 34. Dorothy Lewis, Walthall County (provider)
- 35. Parent Representative ______ (suggestion from MECA)
- 36. Parent Representative ______ (suggestion from Nadine Coleman)
- 37. Parent Representative _________ (suggestion from Louise Davis)
- 38. Parent Representative ______ (suggestion from Carol Burnett)